1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Anyone with a Sony Kv32 Dx100 i need info on it please

Discussion in 'TVs' started by matrixsc, Feb 19, 2003.

  1. matrixsc

    matrixsc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2002
    Messages:
    690
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Midlands
    Ratings:
    +19
    Hi all
    I'm thinking of getting a sony Kv32 Dx100 after my problems with my phlips 9527 vertical black lines.So after a few harsh words with where i bought it from i'm able to swap it for another tv so i was thinking of getting this tv.

    But i have a few question
    Has anyone had any problems with these sets at all?
    Also on the phlips when i was watchiung football the picture was a little like ghosting this was due to the digital active motion.Has anyone noticed problems like this with the sony?
    Also am i right in thinking that the sony has 2x Rgb ports?
    Thnaks for any info i get.
    Peace.
     
  2. simon1

    simon1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2001
    Messages:
    917
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Teesside
    Ratings:
    +58
    Had mine since May/June - can't fault it.

    It does indeed have 2x RGB enabled scart sockets.
     
  3. davewadley

    davewadley
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Enfield
    Ratings:
    +1
    Bought mine when first became available in UK (December 2001)

    No problems whatsoever.

    Picture quality superb.

    Just one thing, if you buy one make sure it has the latest software version (version 1.04) otherwise you will not receive the video on BBC Parliament.

    Sony are also better than most for software upgrades, Philips are one of the worst!
     
  4. Vaughn

    Vaughn
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Bought my KD32DX100 in April 2002.

    Only fault I've had has been a physical build problem - when I inserted my VCR scart lead into on of the sockets, it pushed a couple of the connectors out inside the telly, so I got no picture from my VCR at all. However, engineer diagnosed and fixed the problem without any hassle.

    Latest software (v1.04) downloaded automatically recently, which fixed a couple of minor irritations.

    Other than that, extremely pleased with it! Superb picture, very fast channel swicthing, and EPG (lack of data is the broadcasters problem, not the TV's I'm told).

    I never watch football (yes, there are a few of us about!) so can't comment about how that looks, but I've never noticed any ghosting problems on other fast moving pictures.

    Hope this helps, Vaughn
     
  5. matrixsc

    matrixsc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2002
    Messages:
    690
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Midlands
    Ratings:
    +19
    Thanks for the info guys one other question is does it allow ntsc playback? Asi have a multi region dvd play and alot of ntsc discs.
    Also how do i know what software it has ?
    Thanks guys.
     
  6. davewadley

    davewadley
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    8
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Enfield
    Ratings:
    +1
    I read somewhere that Sony plan to bring out a DX150 in April. I guess this might be as a replacement for the DX100 so might be worth investigating.
     
  7. simon1

    simon1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2001
    Messages:
    917
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Teesside
    Ratings:
    +58
    Yes it will accept an ntsc signal fine, via rgb.


    If you want to input ntsc as svhs, you will need to make a simple adjustment through the service menu of this set.

    Details of this procedure have been posted many times - just do a search on these forums for 'sony ntsc'.

    I needed to make this adjusment myself, it's fairly straightforward.
     

Share This Page

Loading...