Anyone with 20 meg in Huddersfield?

Discussion in 'Virgin Media Broadband' started by bendanuk, Sep 13, 2007.

  1. bendanuk

    bendanuk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    685
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Huddersfield
    Ratings:
    +136
    I've been with NTL for about 5 years no problem and currently on 4mb internet @ £25 but thinking about upgrading to 20mb for only £29 per month for 12 months. Has anyone already got 20mb in Huddersfield and how does it perform?

    thanks!
     
  2. bendanuk

    bendanuk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    685
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Huddersfield
    Ratings:
    +136
    I rang customer relations today and I told them i was thinking about moving to sky, when asked why i said their broadband was cheaper. She asked me if there was anything they could do to keep me, I said XL (20MB) broadband for the same price im paying now, she asked a supervisor and they said yes :thumbsup:, it would be immediate and for 12 months. that was a couple of hours ago but im still at 4mb so we will see what happens.......
     
  3. bendanuk

    bendanuk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    685
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Huddersfield
    Ratings:
    +136
    I rang them again because I still hadn't got the upgrade and they said it had been done on the 2nd of October! So they put me through to the broadband techincal department who then decided my modem was too old (ntl 200) so they are sending me the latest one (probably ntl 250 ?) which i should get next week :thumbsup:
     
  4. steery1

    steery1
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    136
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    A different planet
    Ratings:
    +2

    Good news. :thumbsup: Dont forget to come back and let us know how you geton. :)
     
  5. steery1

    steery1
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    136
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    A different planet
    Ratings:
    +2
    BTW, anyone know what the latest modem is for the up to 20Mbps service?
    I asked this question in another thread but got no replies. :confused:
     
  6. bendanuk

    bendanuk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    685
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Huddersfield
    Ratings:
    +136
    I have been looking for this for a while and I have just found this! http://www.chetnet.co.uk/articles/index.php?page=index_v2&id=91&c=4

    It seems that the 255 is the latest model - i hope i get this one :thumbsup:
     
  7. bendanuk

    bendanuk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    685
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Huddersfield
    Ratings:
    +136
    ok, i got the 255 modem today, rang techincal who got it working :thumbsup: i asked them what service i was on - yep you guessed it L (4mb) not XL (20mb). :thumbsdow
    I rang customer relations again who assured me i was on xl but i told them what technical had told me, so after a bit of gentle nudging he rang technical while i was on the phone.:eek: I was on L so they put me to xl 5 mins later i have 12mb according to a speed test, so not bad :thumbsup: lets see what my next bill says .......
     
  8. steery1

    steery1
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    136
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    A different planet
    Ratings:
    +2
    Sounds like all the reports about VM CS are true then. :thumbsdow Glad you got it sorted (Eventually :rolleyes:)
    I've all this to look forward to. Thanks for letting me know to look out for the 255 modem.
    What make is it?
     
  9. bendanuk

    bendanuk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    685
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Huddersfield
    Ratings:
    +136
    Hi mate,
    I got the latest modem which is the Virgin Media 255 (made by Ambit) modem which is at the bottom of the list i posted earlier.

    good luck with CS ;)
     

Share This Page

Loading...