1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Anyone using an nForce 2 mobo?

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by ReTrO, Mar 19, 2003.

  1. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    Is anyone using an nForce 2 based motherboard?

    The DD 5.1 output option for all multichannel audio sounds quite cool.

    I'm quite tempted to get one of the next generation ones (I can't afford anything until then, maybe chrimbo at the earliest).

    Cheers guys!:smashin:
     
  2. Mark Ward

    Mark Ward
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2001
    Messages:
    1,796
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +18
    Just ordered the AsusA7N8X Deluxe NForce2 Mobo today :)

    Mark.
     
  3. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
  4. Mark Ward

    Mark Ward
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2001
    Messages:
    1,796
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +18
    Hi Richard

    I'm hoping that a digital out from the mobo into my lexicon will negate the need for a soundcard.

    I was previously considering the M-Audio RME DIGI 96/8PAD.

    I know VERY little about HTPC right now, but I'm prepared for teh "crash" (XP?) course ahead :)

    Mark.
     
  5. mike.hutch

    mike.hutch
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2001
    Messages:
    1,005
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +27
    So what does the deluxe do over the standard then? I've pretty much decided on this mobo, but I'm sure which version to go for.


    :)
     
  6. JohnS

    JohnS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2000
    Messages:
    2,580
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Herne Bay, Kent
    Ratings:
    +33
    The delux has serial ata and firewire.
     
  7. mike.hutch

    mike.hutch
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2001
    Messages:
    1,005
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +27
    Cool, I don't need either of them so I'll go for the standard one I think.


    :)
     
  8. Mark Ward

    Mark Ward
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2001
    Messages:
    1,796
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +18
    Don't think I will need them either, but give me a few extra bells & whistles for +£15 and I'm a sucker!

    Thought it wouldn't hurt to have the extra features since this mobo will no doubt end up in my desktop after a future HTPC upgrade.

    I may well swap to a P4/H3D solution when prices become more sensible.

    Christ! I'm talking about upgrades and I only ordred this mobo yesterday :D

    Mark.
     
  9. Lem

    Lem
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a pile of HTPC's almost ready to hit the market based on a modified Shuttle SN41 which uses the nForce2 chipset. Works a treat, although whilst sounding excellent, the soundstorm chipset can behave strangely under programs that switch the input/outputs. Also, if you want a proper working line-in, you'll have to get handy with your soldering iron! (this is on the SN41 only though)
     

Share This Page

Loading...