Anyone using a SuperGrace Radeon card?

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Peter Parker, Nov 21, 2001.

  1. Peter Parker

    Peter Parker
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    13,269
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK.
    Ratings:
    +2,789
    I'm thinking of using one of these for my HTPC when I get round to replacing my MPact2 setup.

    www.ebuyer.com are doing these cards at a good price, so I'm very tempted.

    Any known problems with YXY (there was an intial one with the original Radeon but that was fixed) or DScaler with these cards?

    I only need it for an 800 x 600 DLP pj.


    Cheers.

    Gary.
     
  2. tryingtimes

    tryingtimes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2001
    Messages:
    4,094
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +531
    Yes, I've got the 32Mb VE model. thirty-odd quid

    I've not found any problems with it so far although it would be nice to have access to a normal ATI one to compare.

    I've managed to get all the custom resolutions that I needed.
    1440x768 @ 71.928Hz being my latest.

    The quality of the image seems fine although I guess I always have a slight doubt in the back of my mind.

    I haven't really gone into YXY in any great detail yet (I'm waiting for my projector to be installed)

    One thing that hasn't given me the warmest feeling so far is that even though the supplied drivers are ATI ones (fairly recent - I'm afraid I can't remember the version number) I can't seem to update them with the latest from the ATI website - It just says something like 'no suitable device found on this system'.

    I may be able to force them on at some point but I don't feel the need right now.

    All in all - for peace on mind I would suggest stumping up for the full Radeon as that's what the majority are using and there is an amazing amount of information on the avs forum about them.

    I ran out of money and thought I'd pay a few quid for one of these and then upgrade to the next 'best in class' later when the 8500 has matured perhaps.
    As such - I can't complain - every resolution I've tried has worked flawlessly on my Mitsubishi 21" Pro monitor.

    Good luck
    Alex
     
  3. Peter Parker

    Peter Parker
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    13,269
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK.
    Ratings:
    +2,789
    Thanks for the info TT,

    I've ordered the 64meg DVI model (331+VAT) just out of curiosity.

    When I've installed it, I'll let you know what it's like. I'm currently using a Voodoo 3500 tv, and when I've done the swap, I'll check it out on my projector.

    Cheers.

    Gary.
     
  4. tryingtimes

    tryingtimes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2001
    Messages:
    4,094
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +531
    Cool - look forward to hearing your results

    Cheers
    Alex
     
  5. Mark Grant

    Mark Grant
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2000
    Messages:
    1,368
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    East Yorkshire, England
    Ratings:
    +171
    331+VAT Gary, You must be loaded ;)

    Mark G.
     
  6. Peter Parker

    Peter Parker
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    13,269
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK.
    Ratings:
    +2,789
    LOL!!

    Well, I did order 10 of them... :)

    I meant £31+vat actualy...

    BTW Mark - did you ever get the 3DFusion Mpact2 motherboard like the one I have? You said was going to get one and do the mods on it like the MPact2 PCI card you have.

    I'm curious to your findings. :)

    Thanks.

    Gary.
     
  7. Mark Grant

    Mark Grant
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2000
    Messages:
    1,368
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    East Yorkshire, England
    Ratings:
    +171
    Hello Gary,

    Yes I did get the 3Dcinemax motherboard, at a nice price;)

    The original mod post is still online here.

    The motherboard was a bitch to modify, the smallest surface mount resistors I have ever seen!

    It did not work too well with my Davis, some noise in the picture, maybe from the PC PSU, or too high a voltage on the RGB to the Davis, due to removing the filter network.

    I gave up with it, and went bach to the AGP Mpact card, for now.

    Will give it another go sometime, I have since discovered the benefits of a decent Enermax PSU, that may help.

    Mark G.
     
  8. Peter Parker

    Peter Parker
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    13,269
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK.
    Ratings:
    +2,789
    Hi Mark,

    It's interesting you mention the noise issue - I too have noise showing on my Davis, though initialy it was hard to see. It now seems to be getting a little worse, even after getting another power supply for it.

    I don't think the mod is the problem, but something with the board. I remember asking about this over at AVS and someone else had exactly the same problem.

    Although the DVD playback is glitch free for both sound and vision, I'm now wanting to see what it's like without the noise, hence my hankering for the Radeon.

    Apart from the noise, what was the picture like compared to your Mpact2 agp card?

    Cheers.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice