Anyone try recording stuff via the S-video output of the Sky box?

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by ensyed, Apr 27, 2007.

  1. ensyed

    ensyed
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    675
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    I am interested in archiving a few shows via the s-video output of the HD box into the s-video input of a Windows MCE pc to keep on the harddrive. Can anyone comment on the quality.
    I was told on the Windows MCE forum that you cant buy TV tuner cards with component inputs for the UK market...Is that correct?

    Thanks
     
  2. nheather

    nheather
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    19,753
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Horsham, West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +10,035
    I've not recorded S-Video but I used to have my Sky+ box connected up using this format (because my DVD had my TV's only RGB SCART and daisy chaining didn't work).

    I agonised for some time and kep switching between S-Video and SCART RGB and in the end decided that I couldn't tell the difference.

    So in answer to your question S-Video is about the same as SCART RGB.

    It goes without saying that it only supports SD - so if you archive HD stuff it will be converted to SD.

    Cheers,

    Nigel
     
  3. nigelbb

    nigelbb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    5,309
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +491
    I am feeding an MCE system via the s-video out from the Sky HD box & then streaming around the house to Xbox 360s used as Media Center Extenders. I have been very pleasantly surprised at how good the picture quality is. The digibox & MCE system are hooked up to the same HD projector so I can do A/B comparison. The digibox is clearly better but the picture from the MCE PC is still quite watchable even on a 10 foot screen. As mentioned this will be SD only but the superior quality of the HD channels does carry over especially on a smaller TV screen.
     
  4. fraggenstein

    fraggenstein
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    162
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +12
    I've recorded a few things via the s-video output and like nheather I couldn't really tell the difference between s-video and rgb scart. :thumbsup:
     
  5. mjcairney

    mjcairney
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    7,293
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    Airdrie, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +1,079
    Just one point to remember though, if you use s-video, you'll also need to have an audio connection - could be that I'm :lesson: to the converted and, if so, I apologise.

    Cheers,

    Martin.
     
  6. Ultra2man

    Ultra2man
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,140
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Biggleswade, Bedfordshire
    Ratings:
    +260
    Also do not forget that you will need an audio feed aswell as the S-video feed.
     
  7. ensyed

    ensyed
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    675
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    Thank you. I will try recording something and report back. I am aware that s-video is video only but thank you for the reminder. My TV doesnt have hdmi input so I am already using the component video out from Sky HD.
     
  8. sizedoesmatter

    sizedoesmatter
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    375
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +27
    My box is connected to my dvd recorder by S-video/audio to scart. If there is a difference to rgb I haven't noticed it.
     
  9. avinitski

    avinitski
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Messages:
    3,319
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +216
    svideo works fine, use it myself to record from Sky+ to my PC, results are fine.
     

Share This Page

Loading...