1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Anyone tried signal distrib through the power supply

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Steve.J.Davies, Sep 23, 2005.

  1. Steve.J.Davies

    Steve.J.Davies
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,995
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +201
    viz :-
    http://www.blankdiscshop.co.uk/acatalog/network.html#a162

    85 Mbps sounds impressive to me but concerns about signal qaulity and signal leakage - info talks about a range of 200 meters but I take it that is the end to end distances between the power points used.
    Encryption via DES seems a tad out of date but don't have the 'details details'.

    Anyone deployed some of this type of technology ?
     
  2. Maff et1

    Maff et1
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm running a pair of these at home. My Topfield 5800 PVR goes into a NSLU2 usb disk host with a modified linux OS, powerline link then takes the ethernet connection upstairs and into my switch.

    Been running for about a month solid with no problems (unlike my previous wireless link) and no configuration hassles.

    The standard encryption is good enough for most uses and the signal doesn't pass the electric meter and get into the street.

    I don't get anywhere near 85mbps, so believe that like you believe wireless speeds. However I do get about 15mbps which is good enough for me.

    Overall I'm quite happy with the performance of these.
     
  3. Steve.J.Davies

    Steve.J.Davies
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,995
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +201
    Thanks for the feedback.
    they do show different types - or at least different descriptions - most at 15 but one pair at 85 mbps.

    "Its all rather confusing really.."
     
  4. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,998
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,802
    I've used this in a clients home to good effect. The instructIons are a bit pants but once you get it going it works. You need to check all the points you want to use are on the same phase (don't ask me how).

    In the installation I did we went cable modem to router then router to devolo down two floors to basement where the HTPC lived and from Develo to PC. Works a treat.No way wireless was going to work as it was an older stone built property.

    Gordon
     
  5. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,998
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,802
    I've got a spare single unit that we didn't use. Would sell it if you want.

    Gordon
     
  6. Steve.J.Davies

    Steve.J.Davies
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,995
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +201
    Nice offer Gordon.
    Is it a 15 or an 85 mbps ?

    Will also check back on that link I gave about getting an 85 mbps single unit to make the pair.
     
  7. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,998
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,802
  8. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    In a domestic property being fed by a single consumer meter, all points will be on the same phase. In other premises, if you have an AC test meter which can measure up to 600VAC, you can measure between the live terminals of the sockets in question. If the meter reads zero, then you're on the same phase.
     
  9. Steve.J.Davies

    Steve.J.Davies
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,995
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +201
    Thanks for the pahse resolution.
    Am just (finally) having my HTPC (plus other uses) built as I type this so will have to plan some small changes to my strategy with the old PC and check capabilities of both. Can't recall the on board capabilities of my new mobo and am sure I will need to add a card to my existing PC. If nothing else an 85 mbps connection like this would help me get the machines to back each other up. Looks like its in plan.
    When I get new box back and configured (will take several days with two bootable Win XP Pro partitions and about five linux distros, Windows takes the longest though...)
    I also gotta add my TT card get it all stable then will add the networking.

    Whenever it finishes happy to post results if people want 'em.

    Muchos thankos amigos. This is a good board.
     

Share This Page

Loading...