1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Anyone tried PowerDVD 5.0???

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by gingercat, Jul 21, 2003.

  1. gingercat

    gingercat
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Messages:
    489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Lancashire, UK
    Ratings:
    +26
    http://www.gocyberlink.com/english/products/product_main.jsp?ProdId=28

    Just interested to know if anyone thinks its new "CLEV" mode (CyberLink Eagle Vision) really does make a difference with LCD PJs, or if it is a bit naff.

     
  2. IronGiant

    IronGiant
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Messages:
    53,732
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Oxford UK
    Ratings:
    +29,755
    If I could get it to play a DVD I'd let you know...

    It played for half a second, froze for 4 secs, then moved on for another half second, then froze for 4 secs etc, etc.

    I've had to reinstall 4.0 XP, while I wait for their tech support to get back to me.

    I believe quite a lot of people are having problems.

    Dave
     
  3. MuFu

    MuFu
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,191
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    NW2, London
    Ratings:
    +4
    I have it and it's working fine. CLEV is a bit of a saturation/gamma spoof, IMHO (fans of the ghastly "Vivid" colour profile, look no further!!!). It's ok for for Episode 2, animations etc but some films just look ridiculous.

    Why don't you grab the demo? You can enable CLEV on half the screen to compare.

    MuFu.
     
  4. gingercat

    gingercat
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Messages:
    489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Lancashire, UK
    Ratings:
    +26
    Regmarch: that doesn't sound too good :( Was the contrast good though ;)

    What system are you running? A lot of the online stuff seems to think it's quite processor-hungry which worries my as I've only got an Athlon 800...

    MuFu: cheers for the tips - I'll give the demo a try tonight...
     
  5. IronGiant

    IronGiant
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Messages:
    53,732
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Oxford UK
    Ratings:
    +29,755
    Gingercat: To just use it without the fancy gizmos they still quote 350Mhz as minimum spec, I've a Duron 700, Vivid!XS kyro2 and a gametheater XP so it should run, but wouldn't. So I didn't try out CLEV ;)
    Went back to 4.0 and that was fine.

    Dave
     
  6. IronGiant

    IronGiant
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Messages:
    53,732
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Oxford UK
    Ratings:
    +29,755
    :rotfl:
    straight from the horses mouth, their tech support says:


    Sorry, this is a performace issue, we suggest you to use more fast CPU to play PoweRDVD 5.0. Since we alrady enhance our video and audio enghine in PowerDVD 5.

    So 700Mhz isn't good enough after all, I wonder what the true minimum spec is, if 700Mhz equates to half a second every 5 seconds I probably need a 10x faster processor then
    :laugh:
     
  7. gingercat

    gingercat
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Messages:
    489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Lancashire, UK
    Ratings:
    +26
    Well, I guess that definitely rules it out for potential Mini-ITX use too then - unless it just manages to run with the Nehemiah 1GHz...
     
  8. 50/50

    50/50
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    249
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think that that new "CLEV" is fantastic on 4:3 monitors!

    Ive got the deluxe version with all the sound options, and clev even works with my slowest pc. (1000mhz Duron, 512mb ram)

    so you dont need a 3ghz P4 to use it
     
  9. oo00mrblue00oo

    oo00mrblue00oo
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    What about the DTS feature in delux version, do you really need the delux to get DTS, or is this sound card dependant?

    Blue.
     
  10. IronGiant

    IronGiant
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Messages:
    53,732
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Oxford UK
    Ratings:
    +29,755
    They say you need a 1 Gig to use CLEV and the stretcher so maybe 1 gig is the real cutoff point.

    Dave
     
  11. MuFu

    MuFu
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,191
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    NW2, London
    Ratings:
    +4
    Why on 4:3: monitors? :confused:

    MuFu.
     
  12. 50/50

    50/50
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    249
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +0
    because when i watch movies that have a really small aspect (the one smaller then 16:9, cant remember what the ratio is) it kinda makes its so you dont lose alot of the piture at the side compared to cropping. I know its sole purpose isnt for 4:3, but it does a good job of it.

    Oh, and about the sound, The delux vesion plays dts sound. Your sound card doesnt do any sounds processing, it just converts the digital sound from the computer into analogue signal so an amplifier can make a sound. (Im sure someone else can give you a better explanation on the purpose of the sound card)
     
  13. MuFu

    MuFu
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,191
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    NW2, London
    Ratings:
    +4
    Ah, that's CLPV you're thinking of. :smashin:

    MuFu.
     
  14. Epithet

    Epithet
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have searched the forum but could not find any reference to the poblem I have experieced with version 5.

    I am evaluating the trial version and have experienced problems with DTS audio. When using SPDIF output to an external processor the DTS audio stream lags the video by about 5 seconds. I queried this with cyberlink and they confirmed the bug. They intend to offer a patch to cure the problem shortly but this will only work on the retail and OEM versions.
     
  15. Kramer

    Kramer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Haven't encountered this problem TBH.

    5 looks a bit nicer but I still prefer version 4. Familiarity as much as anything I suppose.
     
  16. Epithet

    Epithet
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the input Kramer.

    The absence of any comment on this problem either on this board or avsforum made me think it was my system. Perhaps some setups are more sensitive to the problem than others. However, Cyberlink have released the patch today and top of the list of fixes is delay to SPDIF sound.

    Epithet.
     

Share This Page

Loading...