anyone recommend place for multiregion conversion of sony dvd?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by robotRon, Aug 28, 2002.

  1. robotRon

    robotRon
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    My housemate just got a Sony305 DVD player but forgot to get it pre-converted for multiregion. Anyone know of a reasonably priced place in central or east london that would do it??

    Ta
     
  2. Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  3. Kirk

    Kirk
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Messages:
    309
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Somewhere on t'internet
    Ratings:
    +2
    I have used both Techtronics MultiMod and Link Online's Paragon chips.

    Both have been excellent and have had NO issuea at all in the 3+ years I have had my DVD players in use.

    Reasonable prices, but they arte not in London - Sorry.

    I would take your DVD player to the store and have them do it for you, rather than risk the "postal" services......
     
  4. guyb

    guyb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2001
    Messages:
    642
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Leamington Spa
    Ratings:
    +5
    Hi

    I have just made my Sony DVD multi-regional by using a rented remote from www.dvdchips.co.uk. It is so easy to do. All you have to do is press a few buttons. No sending the DVD away, no opening the DVD, no soldering or anything. I ordered the remote from the site and had it the next day and it took about 30 seconds to do. HIGHLY RECOMENDED.

    http://www.shoyle.f9.co.uk/dvdchipsuk/nosoldermodtable.htm
     
  5. enajh2

    enajh2
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    125
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Loughborough, England
    Ratings:
    +1
    For my Sony DVP-NS900, where would this leave me regarding my warranty? Given that it is non-invasive etc.
     
  6. Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would say that the manufacturer COULD say that you have invalidated the warranty by using the upgrade remote as you have altered the spec of the player but would they ever even check when there is no visible trace of tampering ? the fact is that this is the best solution and least likely to affect warranty but I still think that there is a chance of your warranty being invalidated
     
  7. snyphr

    snyphr
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2002
    Messages:
    87
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    Ona rooftop near u
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try www.multizonedvd.co.uk they're based in East London

    or www.dvdlibrary.co.uk they're based in Romford
     
  8. robotRon

    robotRon
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the advice, I like the sound of the non-invasive remote method.

    Makes me think though, if it's just an IR signal sent to reprogram the player wouldn't there possibly be a way to download the IR data it's sending over the internet and then transfer it using a PalmPilot or Laptop with an IR port? Anyone know if this is possible?

    I don't mind paying if not but it would be nice if there were freely available methods of getting past the electronics manufacturers greedy territorial marketing.
     
  9. Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    it's theoretically possible to copy the IR data but as you only get one shot with this remote it would take a brave man ( or a rich man ) to try it and risk not upgrading the player.

    it's not possible to simply learn the data into a One for All remote in learning mode , this has been tried without success
     
  10. robotRon

    robotRon
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, not at all practical to do via the 'remote rental' people. But they must have got the data from somewhere and I reckon once you get it then using a laptop/pda would be relatively simple.

    I don't mind paying for a service, but £40 for a few copied IR commands stings a little. Still, if it's the only way...

    Time for a (probably fruitless) search.
     
  11. Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Good luck with that , if all else fails and £40 is too much then there is always the chip to solder into the player for around £20
     
  12. Stuart Wright

    Stuart Wright
    AVForums Founder Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2000
    Messages:
    13,863
    Products Owned:
    6
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    Ratings:
    +9,606
    I've added Tridek at www.multi-region.co.uk to your list. You also might want to consider removing Link Electronics from your list as the chap there has retired and sold off the company. Going to their site now just takes you to Upgrade Heaven
     
  13. enajh2

    enajh2
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    125
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Loughborough, England
    Ratings:
    +1
    Well, I just found this in my bookmarks:-

    http://www.audiophile.no/artikler/ns900.html

    Translation http://www.tranexp.com:2000/InterTr...0.html&text=&from=nor&to=eng&Submit=TRANSLATE

    I hope someone can translate this better than the translator I found though! I think the original source for this and a discussion in English was a Remote Control or a dvd hacking forum somewhere with a yellow theme to it. I'll have a look unless this sounds familar to someone.

    From what I can make out the codes are supposed to work with the RM-VL700:-

    [​IMG]

    [EDIT] Have only found this so far http://www.remotecentral.com/cgi-bin/mboard/rc-pronto/thread.cgi?keywords=19830&highlight=region

    I think I found the audiophile site from somewhere like this so my chance of finding the English discussion are pretty remote!! :clown: [EDIT]
     
  14. enajh2

    enajh2
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Messages:
    125
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Loughborough, England
    Ratings:
    +1
    Right..I have got the proper translation as:

    "This is a guide to making the NS900 region free. It only works with the specially programmed RM700 remote.

    Enter this when player is in standby: 1 2 3 4 5
    player then starts up, then press 1 2 3 4 5 again and the player goes into standby again.

    Further below, you can see the codes programmed into the buttons of the "modified RM700".

    1

    00013240 01FFFFF0 FFC3FF0F FE3FE8FF E3FF8FFE 3F8FFE3F
    1FFC7FF0 FFC3F1F8 7FE1F8FC 7FF0FC00 00000000 00000000
    000FFFFF 0FFC3FE8 FFE3FF8F FE3FF8FF E3F8FFE3 F1FFC3FF
    0FFC3F1F 07FE1F8F C7FF0FC0 00000000 00000000 0000FFFF
    F0FFC3FF 0FFE3FE8 FFE3FF8F FE3F8FFE 3F1FFC7F F0FFC3F1
    F8FFE1F8 FC7FF0FC

    2

    00013240 01FFFFF1 FFC7F1FF 87E3F1FF C7FF1F0F FE3F8FFE
    3FF8FFE3 F1F8FFE3 E8FC7FF1 F8000000 00000000 00000000
    00FFFFF1 FFC7E3FF 8FE3F1FF C7FF1F8F FE3F0FFC 3FF8FFC3
    F1F8FFE3 F1FC7FF1 F8000000 00000000 00000000 01FFFFF1
    FFC7E3FF 8FC3F1FF C7FF1F8F FE3F1FFC 7FF1FFC7 F1F8FFE3
    F1F87FE1

    3

    00013240 01FFFFF1 FFC7F1FF C7A3FF8F C7FF1F47 FE1F8FFE
    3FF8FFE3 F1FC7FE1 F8FC7FF1 F8000000 00000000 00000000
    00FFFFF1 FFC7F1FF C7E3FF8F C7FF1FC7 FF1F8FFE 3FF8FFE3
    F1F87FE1 E8FC7FD1 F8000000 00000000 00000000 00FFFFD1
    FFC7F1FF C7E3FE8F C7FF1FC7 FE1F8FFE 3FF8FFE3 F1B87FE1
    F8FC7FF1 F8000000 00000000 00000000 00FFFFF1 FFC7F1FF
    47E3FF8F C7FF1FC7 FE1F8FFE 3FF8FFE3 F1FCFFE1 F8FC7FF1

    4

    00013240 01FFFFF1 FFC7FF1F FC7FF1FF C7E3FF8F E3FF8FC7
    FF1FFC7F F1F8FE3F F8FC7E3F F8F80000 00000000 00000000
    0FFFFF8F FE3FF8FF E3FF8FFE 3F1FFC7F 1FFC7E3F F8FFE3FF
    8FC7E3FF 8FE3F1FF C7E00000 00000000 00000000 7FFFFC7F
    F1FFC7FF 1FFC7FF1 F8FFE3E9 FFC7F1FF C7FF1FFC 7E3F1FFC
    7F1F8FFE

    5

    00013240 01FFFFE3 FF87E3FF 8FC7FF1F C7E3F1FF C7F1FFC7
    FF1FFC7E 3F8FFE3F 1F8FFE1E 80000000 00000000 00000000
    1FFFFE1F FC7E3FF8 FA3FF8FC 7E3F8FFC 3F1FFC7F F1FFC7F1
    F8FFE3F1 FC7FF1F8 00000000 00000000 00000001 FFFFF1FF
    C7E3FF8F E3FF8FC7 F1E8FFE3 F1FFC7FF 1FFC3F1F 8FFE3F8F
    C7FF1F80 00000000 00000000 0000000F FFFF1FFC 7F1FFC7E
    3FF8FE7F 1F8FFE3F 1FFC3FF8 FFE3F1F8 FFE1F8FC 7FF1F400

    (Most people would probably just pay the £40 now I guess!!! :rolleyes: )
     
  15. Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    These look like the codes that appeared in the newsgroups around a year ago that no one ever got working
     
  16. I am maximus

    I am maximus
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2000
    Messages:
    73
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Surrey,UK
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi
    Just to let u guys and girls know it is possible to clone the codes onto a learning remote so I have to disagree with whynotchip it,I have learnt the codes onto various remotes from an av receiver,a cambridge audio remote plus o f course a Pronto.The codes used are from a very good source and I have upgraded my own dvpns 900 with them I hope this helps
    I am maximus
     
  17. jon2366

    jon2366
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Robotron

    Thought I'd mention that I just bought a NS700 from the Sony Center in Basingstoke, and for £30 they made it multiregion for me.

    They used a remote sent to them by a Sony engineer, So my warranty is still intact.

    Cya
     
  18. guyb

    guyb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2001
    Messages:
    642
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Leamington Spa
    Ratings:
    +5
    I rented the remote from www.dvdchips.co.uk and it worked a treat. Follow the instruction and you can't go wrong.
     
  19. guyb

    guyb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2001
    Messages:
    642
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Leamington Spa
    Ratings:
    +5
    Yes I did.
     

Share This Page

Loading...