Anyone know of a IR remote with timer?

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Control & Remote Controls' started by 5to1, Jan 14, 2013.

  1. 5to1

    5to1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,909
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +758
    Hi,

    Unfortunately suffered a break in recently, fortunately the alarm scared them off, but they still damaged the door which took a day to sort. Not to mention several visits from the police. I still don't understand why they attempted it, my bell boxes are prominent so they must have seen them, yet the scarpered after hearing the actual alarm :/ Waste of my time/money, the polices and the burglars aswell.

    Anyway rant over, the reason I'm posting is this has prompted me to implement some additional deterents. One of them would be having lights activate at various times while I'm away. Since I have IR controlled light switches in most of the rooms, I was thinking some sort of programmable IR timer remote may be the simplest/cheapest way to achieve this. Only problem is I can't seem to find any :(

    Does anyone know of any that exist?
     
  2. kdp99

    kdp99
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2001
    Messages:
    209
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Southampton,Hants,UK
    Ratings:
    +24
  3. 5to1

    5to1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,909
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +758
    Thanks, either one will do for me. Ill just buy a couple, one for each room. Then can set them to turn lights in/off in series making it look like someone is moving from one room to another.

    Thank you. :smashin:
     
  4. kdp99

    kdp99
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2001
    Messages:
    209
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Southampton,Hants,UK
    Ratings:
    +24
    The remote does not learn, there are various ways to add codes to it though, but it might be best to get one first and make sure you can get it to opperate the lights before you buy a handfull of them.
     
  5. 5to1

    5to1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,909
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +758
    Thanks, I've been reading up on other threads about the remotes and noticed they can't learn.

    My lights can be programmed, so that would get around that issue. However, I currently have Sky remotes in each room (they all have TVs, with HDMI matrix distributing sources), the Sky remotes are programmed to control the TVs, thereby meaning I only need one remote in each room. I use the colour keys (don't use text) on the TV mode of the SKY remotes to control the lights.

    So if the 8850 doesn't have codes for my TV I'd have to have to reprogram my lights for a code it has, and keep it as a second remote in each room to control the lights. That's obviously inconvenient, but without having a cheapish alternative I don't really see an alternative :(
     
  6. Flimber

    Flimber
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2002
    Messages:
    13,692
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4,477
    The Marantz version of the original Pronto had a timer, IIRC.
     
  7. 5to1

    5to1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,909
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +758
    I've had a quick look and it seems some of the pronto series do have timer capability. But I can't find any of the older ones and the more recent ones are pricey :(. I already have universal remote every one is used to, otherwise I would consider buying one and using it for both purposes.

    The most annoying thing is I've now spent days fixing a door, researching CCTV, remotes. Fair enough if I didn't have an alarm with prominent bell boxes front and side, or if they were prepared to ignore the alarm. But the dipsh*ts having seen the bell boxes, still spent ages damaging my door only to run off when the alarm which they knew was there went off :confused:

    Rant over again and thanks for the pointers guys.
     
  8. kdp99

    kdp99
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2001
    Messages:
    209
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Southampton,Hants,UK
    Ratings:
    +24

    Sky (normal, + or HD) would be fine with the 8550, I have used mine with all three. TVs are pretty standard as far as IR codes, so I be pretty suprise if you can't find a code to work the TV, I'd get one for a £10 and have a play.
     
  9. 5to1

    5to1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,909
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +758
    I think that's looking like the way to go. Worst case I can reprogram the lights to work with a code the 8850 has in its library for now, until I find a better solution.
     
  10. kdp99

    kdp99
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2001
    Messages:
    209
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Southampton,Hants,UK
    Ratings:
    +24
    If you get one its worth getting the IR program, from below. It lets your pc set up the remote. It need a JP1 lead for 2 direction communication, but just to go to the remote you can use the wave file option.

    JP1 Remotes :: Index
     
  11. supermonkey

    supermonkey
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    672
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +17
    My suggestion would be using a phone/tablet as a remote!

    The software will enable you to control your lights whe your not in & you ca set timers too
     
  12. MrBeanzy

    MrBeanzy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a Nevo S70, they have timer functions for IP commands, Z-Wave and IR. Not the newest of remotes now though!
     
  13. SparksCW

    SparksCW
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2009
    Messages:
    217
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Portsmouth
    Ratings:
    +43
    Depending on your budget etc there's a new product being released by Global Cache in feb which has an astronomical clock, it's essentially the same as the existing IP2IR ethernet to IR device but it's a lot smaller and you can add time based events into the unit itself, so once programmed it's pretty much stand alone automation...

    Depends what lighting control system you have I guess, if it's just IR controlled light switches then you'd need one per room and use a blaster lead, so if you wanted to do a whole house it could get expensive and you'd need power point to plug the device in... Not sure what alternatives there are though? Global Cache iTach Flex would be interesting to see if there is some kind of battery powered IR blaster timer!

    Alternatively if you changed your switches to Lightwave RF you could use their app to set automatic times! Not cheap, but not ridiculously expensive either.
     
  14. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    52,999
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,729
    Why specifically astronomical, or is that the price?:)
     
  15. SparksCW

    SparksCW
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2009
    Messages:
    217
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Portsmouth
    Ratings:
    +43
    haha don't know how much it costs but astronomical is a clock based on the sun etc so you can time things more accurately than just by hours etc. wiki link here Astronomical clock - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia i doubt it's a major thing for simple on off lights in a room but its useful for external lights etc etc.
     
  16. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    52,999
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,729
    That's not what the Wiki link says it is.
    It confirms that an astrological clock is one that displays such things as the phases of the moon, as well as the time.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice