1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Anyone know anything about 47 Labs?

Discussion in 'AV Pre-Amp/Processors & Power Amps' started by Knightshade, Aug 7, 2004.

1. Knightshade

Knightshade

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +43
    Hi All,
    Anyone know much about 47 Labs?
    Specifically the Gaincard Monoblocs?
    Thanks

2. alexs2

alexs2

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,674
    Very highly rated by some audiophiles,especially in respect of the minimalist approach taken by the designers,in all respects.
    I must add that I have no experience of them personally,although the manufacturer's website has quite a selection of useful material including reviews.

3. Knightshade

Knightshade

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +43
    Thanks Alexs2
    I have a friend who raves about them, low powered but incredibly musical.
    I've read the reviews but with them being an American company it's difficult to find a retailer. I don't buy anything without listening to it for a couple of weeks first so you see my dilemma...?
    Have to wait for a HI-Fi show somewhere I guess...

4. alexs2

alexs2

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,674
    I also very rarely buy without listening,so i can understand your problems there(the only things I bought without trying first were my KMA100's but I already had a KSA100,so it wasn't too much of a problem to make the choice).

The lowish power output can be a bit of a problem if you listen at high levels,into relatively inefficient speakers,but otherwise should be ok.