Anyone here built their own PC from the floor up?

S

shadowritten

I need a new project. It's either going to be learning the piano (see my other thread on this), or building my own PC from scratch. Anyone here done this and care to share some good advice with an absolute beginner?

What I'm aiming to achieve - if this helps - is an integrated PC/HiFi/DigiTV/DVD media centre that basically runs all the entertainment and computing needs Shadowifey and I could have. I've decided to go down this route (when funds allow - got married this year and just bought a new car) rather than simply squirrel away cash for the next 10 years towards a high-end AV or 2-channel set-up.

I'm all for convergence and integration - so the less wires, boxes and general clutter I can get away with, the better. The other advantage is that a self-build will give me a) knowledge I'd need to fix anything that went wrong; b) simple upgrade capability; and c) a hobby other than surfing the Net and listening to my DAP!!

Any thoughts very welcome. :thumbsup:

Built loads of them, easy to do but it's always the software side that takes the time. :)

Yes, I've been building my own PCs for years initially because I couldn't afford to do anything else and now because I like to specify every component.
When I started there was one type of CPU socket, one type of memory, one type of card socket and this made things relatively easy.
Now, I think the hard part is making sure you get the right CPU bang for your buck and then matching decent kit with it. TomsHardware.com is a good place for reviews on kit. And there must be plenty of beginners' guides on the 'net on how to put it all together.
I asked on here (in the computer hardware forum) for advice and got it.