1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Anyone heard of these?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by cuewoz1, Dec 27, 2003.

  1. cuewoz1

    cuewoz1
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2003
    Messages:
    187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    I have just been told about this player (though looks pants), seems to have a lot going for it, inc progressive scan (don't know if its PAL or NTSC or both)
    can some one who knows tell me and also what it is like?
    RONIN MEDIAWORKS

    Thank you very much
    as I have seen it for £50!
     
  2. Johndm

    Johndm
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,804
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Bedford UK
    Ratings:
    +56
    Mate of mine got one a few weeks ago, said it will play almost anything!!

    Unsure if its any good though......
     
  3. bonzobanana

    bonzobanana
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2001
    Messages:
    3,404
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Yeovil
    Ratings:
    +216
    Their made by one of china's biggest industrial groups I believe. They do a lot of stuff that is rebranded by other firms. Even Ronin is a rebrand name I think. They took out a full page ad in What Video describing their business and factory and the fact they want to be a major brand in their own right. Their real brand is something like AMW I think.

    They employ 300,000 people in china, have a factory that is 14 square kilometres in size and has its own power station and reservoir. Literally raw silicon and sheet metal goes into the factory and LCD displays and DVD players come out.

    Probably the best feature of the players is their excellent dvd loaders which tend to better than most of the japanese brands. They also tend to have excellent support for formats generally.

    Picture quality is pretty good and competitive with most other players with perhaps only class leading japanese players like the Toshiba 330, Panasonic SE35 beating it.

    The efficiency and scale of operation of the company is pretty amazing and I suspect it 15 years time when most of the japanese brand names are gone it will be brands like this we see as we buy our goods through virtual shopping malls online.
     
  4. bonzobanana

    bonzobanana
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2001
    Messages:
    3,404
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Yeovil
    Ratings:
    +216
    Nuts! Got that wrong. Ronin is its own name and its part of the RMWx group of China. The Ronin model is the P80H.

    I was confusing it with AMW group of China who do a P80L model.

    My original comments were referring to AMW products who make a lot of stuff for other brands. Looking at factory size a-mw are a lot bigger.

    www.a-mw.co.uk
     
  5. Babylon

    Babylon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    105
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    http://www.sheppeyscum.com
    Ratings:
    +6
    nearly bought one last week for £65 from a computer show,but a friend did,it dose Pal and NTSC PS,and has played every disc he has thrown at it,and he has got a lot of funny discs,he has a Pioneer 656 and said he could tell no difference in the picture and that it sounded better than the Pioneer,also,if I am reading the book right,it dose DVD-Audio as well,this is what it says


    DVD-Audio is a format specifically designed to provide the highest possible fidelity capable on DVD.The audio fidelity of DVD-Audio far exceeds the quality of conventional CD's and audio on DVD-Video.

    It goes on to say a lot of other old poop,but I would say it dose DVD-Audio going by that,so I'm off tomorrow to see if I can pick one up.
     
  6. BAD Dave

    BAD Dave
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Messages:
    475
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Dundee
    Ratings:
    +18
    Sounds interesting!
    Does it really play DVD-Audio discs?
    What about SACD??

    Where did you see it for £50?

    Thanks
     
  7. TopMeTom

    TopMeTom
    Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Messages:
    8,228
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +261
  8. Babylon

    Babylon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    105
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    http://www.sheppeyscum.com
    Ratings:
    +6
    Well,the wife picked me one up this morning for 65 quid,so will report back later.
     
  9. BAD Dave

    BAD Dave
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Messages:
    475
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Dundee
    Ratings:
    +18
    Good for you, Babylon!
    Let us know how it performs.
    If only it played SACD, we would have a true universal budget bargain!
    I really wanted a universal player but I might go for this as an interim measure until HDMI sorts itself out!
     
  10. bonzobanana

    bonzobanana
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2001
    Messages:
    3,404
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Yeovil
    Ratings:
    +216
    DVD audio is standard on the Panasonic SE75 and thats sub £100 now. Even the Panasonic SE35 has it but only with 2 channel output as it doesn't have a 5.1 decoder it has to downmix it. It seems like the Ronin model has had a big upgrade as it also has dts now.

    Theres probably a new chipset from mediatek or another maker which enables more features like dvd audio.
     
  11. TopMeTom

    TopMeTom
    Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Messages:
    8,228
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +261
    Has anyone gone for it then?

    EDIT: I notice on bigpockets site they have sold six today..mmmm.worth a splash?:)
     
  12. clayts450

    clayts450
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2001
    Messages:
    558
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +51
    Probably the new MT1389 chipset which also supports DiVX too, but only if the manufacturer's reqest it :)
     
  13. Babylon

    Babylon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    105
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    http://www.sheppeyscum.com
    Ratings:
    +6
    Ok,not had time to to use it yet as it is going in my Cinema Room,and I put another Harddrive in me computer which has turned into a right bitch of a job,and to make things worse to make the Ronin Multi Region you have to give it a Firmware flash,which isn't to hard once you work it out,thanks to These boys,and you can get the Firmware from Here,just in case anyone gets one.

    As players go,it's not to ugly,and I have seen a hell of a lot worse,build seems to be solid and it has a bit of wieght to it,to be honest,I think there all pretty much of a muchness these days when it comes to build,until you you get to the £500 and up region.The remote is the usual generic one that you find in a hundred other DVDs at this price,but has also been seen in one or two at a lot higher price,there are 3 small lights on the front that indicate,Standby,P-Scan and Play,the Play light is more like a laser than a light,so watch them eyes,and there is a Progressive Scan button on the remote to turn it on a off on the fly,but I'v never had PS so that may be the norm.

    All in all from the outside it's pretty good,so here's hopeing that the inside is as good,if not better,I'v stuck a few pictures Here,sorry there a bit dark,forgot to put the flash on.
     
  14. TopMeTom

    TopMeTom
    Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Messages:
    8,228
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +261
    Babylon, where did you pick it up from?

    I am confused on the bigpockets site there are two of these things but no bloody model number!!

    Phil
     
  15. Babylon

    Babylon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    105
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    http://www.sheppeyscum.com
    Ratings:
    +6
    Well,I see them at a computer show but didn't get one,but it turned out that the stall selling them was my local highstreet computer shop,so lucky really,but I have seen differant Ronin models on sell at shows before,so it may be worth try one if there are any near you These are some of my local ones,or phone around some computer shops.
     
  16. TopMeTom

    TopMeTom
    Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Messages:
    8,228
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +261
    I just found ebuyer do them for 55 quid ;)

    And a lot of computer type stores.......
     
  17. Babylon

    Babylon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    105
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    http://www.sheppeyscum.com
    Ratings:
    +6
    Plus £5.27p P+P ;) ;) :laugh:
     
  18. TopMeTom

    TopMeTom
    Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Messages:
    8,228
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +261
    £53 quid inc p+p at Dabs :)


    Is it worth it babylon?:confused:

    Phil
     
  19. Babylon

    Babylon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2002
    Messages:
    105
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    http://www.sheppeyscum.com
    Ratings:
    +6
    I would have to say Yes,it dose everything you could ask a DVD to do and more,you can change the P-Scan on the fly,push the button and it changes and shows up in the corner of the screen as Interlaced or P-Scan,it dose DVD-Audio,not something that I was too worryed about,but still nice to have,and it plays just about any file you can think of.
    The problem I will have in talking about the picture is that for the last 4 years I have been using my good old trusty Pioneer DV515 through a SVGA lead,now the picture has always been very good and even on my Projector it was fine,but Component P-Scan is worlds apart,the pioneer always looked as if was out of focus and the colours were a bit washed out,but P-Scan is way more vivid and seems more stable and focused,at £65 I would have to give it a big :smashin: ,but I would say that as I have been using the same player for the last 4 years,but at 53 quid it really is a steal,and what more could you in all honesty expect a 53 quid DVD player to do,apart from SVCD there's not much left.
     
  20. RobsterD

    RobsterD
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2000
    Messages:
    870
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +12
    Bought 5 of the Ronin P807 for family and mates at Xmas,they have played everything I could throw at it,even a backup of LoEG that my HTPC struggled with,upgraded the firmware to MR which was nice and easy. A real bargain @ £50 from Ebuyer
     
  21. S L KING

    S L KING
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2002
    Messages:
    28
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Philb, when did you see the Ronin P80H player? I just checked the Dabs web site and couldn't find it.
     
  22. kbfern

    kbfern
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2002
    Messages:
    17,047
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Wolverhampton
    Ratings:
    +5,132
    Its not called a ronin on their site just a P80h,I ordered one yesterday should be delivered on Friday.They were down to less than 5 in stock so better be quick.They do have some more comming in though.I think these are a stonking bargain considering the connectivity and features on offer.

    see link below

    http://www.dabs.com/uk/productView.htm?quicklinx=2SQK
     
  23. TopMeTom

    TopMeTom
    Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Messages:
    8,228
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +261
    These things are going incredibly fast....

    Mind you dabs are getting 120 in a few days as well.

    Phil
     
  24. TopMeTom

    TopMeTom
    Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Messages:
    8,228
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +261
    All gone.....
     
  25. cuewoz1

    cuewoz1
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2003
    Messages:
    187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    I got mine this morning.
    Does anyone know if it has RGB output thru scart?
    component works ok with prog scan.
    Multiregion update also worked
     
  26. kbfern

    kbfern
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2002
    Messages:
    17,047
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Wolverhampton
    Ratings:
    +5,132
    mine should be with me by monday..

    cuewoz1

    was the multiregion hack by handset or did you have to download and burn a disc and flash the firmware

    if handset hack what is it?
     
  27. cuewoz1

    cuewoz1
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2003
    Messages:
    187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi
    I had to download a firmware update and then burnt to CDR.
    Following the instructions on the website herehttp://roninhacks.shacknet.nu/
    I had to the also input a handset hack
    1 Remove any Disks

    2 Press Setup

    3 Go to Preference Page

    4 Type 1379 (this will bring up the region code)

    5 change to 0 and press play to confirm the change.

    then it worked.
    I am not sure though if RGB was working before I changed the player!
    :blush:
    My brother in law also ordered one so I will see if his is RGB before he hacks.
     
  28. kbfern

    kbfern
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2002
    Messages:
    17,047
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Wolverhampton
    Ratings:
    +5,132
    Hi Cuwoz1

    I got my player today, got it up and running only as region 2.My machine was made in September so I don't think the hanset hack on its own will do any region. Looks like I am going to have to download the fix and burn to a cd.My Volume label and file name is P780H0003/13231213.BiN was yours the same.

    I have just gone to roninhacks/shacknet for the firmware file and downloaded but its a zipped file and windows will not open it(windows needs to know which programme created it),did you have any probs?

    File name is 03113216.BIN
     
  29. cuewoz1

    cuewoz1
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2003
    Messages:
    187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    I will have a look, not sure if the numbers are the same (they look similar)
    I didn't have any trouble opening the file either. It was zipped but winzip just opened it and I got a .bin file in a folder.
    I am with windows 2000.
     
  30. kbfern

    kbfern
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2002
    Messages:
    17,047
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Wolverhampton
    Ratings:
    +5,132
    cuewoz1

    I did manage to open the file and burn to the cd.It worked just a treat and now have an all region player.
     

Share This Page

Loading...