Anyone had their profile corrupted?

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by Dazza, Dec 18, 2006.

  1. Dazza

    Dazza
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Messages:
    1,200
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Bolton, Lancs
    Ratings:
    +67
    Switched on my 360 one night and it didn't login.
    After checking around i found my profile was corrupted.
    I tried to download it again from XBL and it didn't work. I had to delete the corrupted file first from my HD and download it again.

    Anyone else had this happen? Is it a regular occurrance?
     
  2. Steve-L

    Steve-L
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Messages:
    3,383
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +149
    Never had that happen, no. Did you lose your game saves? :rolleyes:

    Did your 360 crash the last time you used it before the corruption appeared?
     
  3. corh5

    corh5
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    535
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +13
    Hi

    I had this a month or so ago. Switched on to find no profile. No crashes or anything the night before. I went to download it from live then got worried when message popped up saying something about games saves will/may be lost.

    Searched Net to find if you delete corrupted profile fisrt then download it will be fine.

    Luckily it worked. No ideas what caused it.
     
  4. daveon

    daveon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1,635
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Washington
    Ratings:
    +126
    I had this problem about three months ago, I think it was down to the way I turned off the machine. Anyway I too had to delete my profile and download it from XBL. Worked no problem, retained my achievments and all my games saves where fine too. I think they just put that message on about lost data as a bit of a disclaimer.
     
  5. moofie

    moofie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2006
    Messages:
    570
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +24
    This happened to me after powering down one time after some Oblivion. I don't connect to xblive all the time (not paying for the over priced wireless adapter!) so I lost all achievements I made after the last time I connected to xblive. All the saves are still intact after redownloading my profile.
     
  6. bishman

    bishman
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2001
    Messages:
    4,904
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    hertford
    Ratings:
    +174
    I take it you can't use it wired then?

    Bummer about the achievements though.
     
  7. Steve-L

    Steve-L
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2005
    Messages:
    3,383
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +149
    Nice to know you can recover it without losing your gamesaves... though it's a little worrying that it appears to occur for no apparent reason...
     
  8. Dazza

    Dazza
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Messages:
    1,200
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Bolton, Lancs
    Ratings:
    +67
    No problems prior to this. No crashes.
    Just out of the blue, a corrupted profile.

    like others just had to download my profile again. Everything was intact :smashin:
     
  9. SGH42

    SGH42
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Messages:
    639
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +11
    I switched on mine last night & it hasnt logged me in. I tried to recover my profile but when i do it doesn't recognise my hdd ! how do i tell if the profile is corrupted or not & if so how do i delete it but retain game saves etc ?

    Thanks
    Steve
     
  10. p9ul

    p9ul
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    8,862
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +789
    Happened to me twice.

    1st time was just before the 1st dashboard update - and the only way to rescue my saves was to use my wife's GT and copy them to a mem card, after I'd had to go and buy one - MS wouldnt refund me for it either.

    Main problem was that some games - Kameo & PDZ won't allow the save to be transferred to another account so I lost them.

    Recovering your profile would wipe anything currently associated with that profile - this was fixed with the dashboard update, it would allow you to recover the profile without wiping save games.

    BUT BEWARE!! :nono:

    After you recover your profile, your HDD will tell you that you have 1 normal profile and 1 corrupted profile - each one will have a copy of your save games, so little old me thought he'd clean his HDD up by deleting the corrupted profile - what happened was that it wiped everything off the HDD - save game, the lot - only thing that remained was my recovered working profile. Despite what the HDD says, you dont have 2 copies of everything - what you have is 2 profiles referencing the same set of game data. :lesson:
     

Share This Page

Loading...