Anyone had a SIGMA lens serviced?

Discussion in 'Photography Forums' started by IanW, Jun 16, 2009.

  1. IanW

    IanW
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2001
    Messages:
    1,658
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Wiltshire
    Ratings:
    +167
    Guys and Gals,

    I have a couple of Sigma lenses that I think could do with a service. They both seem to be producing out of focus images. :( Has anyone sent a Sigma lens back for repair / service?

    Thanks,

    Ian.
     
  2. ksten

    ksten
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Messages:
    747
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Fleet, Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +209
    Yes, my 30mm was front focusing so sent it in for adjustment. A couple of weeks to turn it around (This was around March 2008) and I was very happy with the result. Good communication throughout.

    Cheers.
     
  3. Pirate!!

    Pirate!!
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    7,736
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +1,217
    Yes, though check the Sigma (UK) website for tariffs. It took 3+ weeks for a re-calibration and this they do on a Sony A100, plus you'll need to post your lens via RMSD which adds to the overall cost.

    Oh for A900 lens micro-adjust!
     
  4. SSB

    SSB
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2003
    Messages:
    1,555
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    North Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +171
    Yes. I had a 70-200 and a 120-300 re-chipped by them shortly after the D200 came out. I thought their service was pretty good - didn't take long and communication was good. Both were free jobs apart from the postage, so can't comment on the pricing of other work. There is a chance that if it's a problem you're seeing on a number of lenses, it could be your sensor is slighly misaligned ... in which case it's a canon concern. Are you able to do some experimenting with the lenses on another body?
     
  5. Mike.P®

    Mike.P®
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,705
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +524
    Chap on a Pentax forum I use sent a Sigma 150-500mm to be serviced as it was soft at 500mm. It went in brand new condition, this is how it was returned. Finger prints all over it and loads of dust internally that wasn't there to start with.

    [​IMG]
     
  6. IanW

    IanW
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2001
    Messages:
    1,658
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Wiltshire
    Ratings:
    +167
    Eek! :eek: I sincerely hope that they rectified the problems, FOC! :nono:

    Ian.
     
  7. Mike.P®

    Mike.P®
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,705
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +524
    Its only just come back from its service, the thing is the sharpness is no better than it was before it went anyway. He is now having to send it back at his own expense and obviously a lens of that weight sent special delivery is not cheap.
     
  8. Pirate!!

    Pirate!!
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    7,736
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +1,217
    Chances are they're using a completely different model camera to the one you are using as the test body. I think this is why Sony (for example) introduced lens micro adjust in the A900 because so many users were sending lenses back for re-calibration.

    The only way to get your lens(es) matched to your body is to send the lenses and the body together so they will calibrate on your camera and not on their test body.
     
  9. Mike.P®

    Mike.P®
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,705
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +524
    The K20D has lens micro adjustment, basically the 150-500mm is just nothing special I think. He still has his old 170-500mm that he was replacing and the difference @ 500mm is like night and day even though Sigma say the newer lens should be better.
     
  10. Pirate!!

    Pirate!!
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    7,736
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +1,217
    In that case, it sounds like one of them has to be let-go. Looks like the range is duplicated anyway. Not the answer is it, but how much time and money will be spent trying to correct the thing?
     
  11. Mike.P®

    Mike.P®
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,705
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +524
    As I said, the 150-500mm is nothing to do with me but was supposed to be a replacement for the 170-500mm. Anyway, going a bit off topic here .. my reply was more in answer to the original question which was has anyone had a Sigma lens serviced and the condition it was returned.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice