1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Anyone got rid of their HCPC?

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by CrispyXUK, Sep 29, 2004.

  1. CrispyXUK

    CrispyXUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,714
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Land of the Living, Essex
    Ratings:
    +33
    Well did you? if so why? did you go back to a dvd player & freeview/sky box?

    I'm thinking about it.
     
  2. richard plumb

    richard plumb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    14,340
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +1,027
    I'm thinking of using a PC for music playback, but can't see myself using it for video. I'm reasonably happy with a good DVD player and projector.
     
  3. CrispyXUK

    CrispyXUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,714
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Land of the Living, Essex
    Ratings:
    +33
    do you have a second display when you are not watching the projector?
     
  4. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    I did switch from an HTPC to my Pio 868 mainly for convenience but I've now built another HTPC having learned from my first mistakes. The PQ and features like custom A/R available from TheaterTek overcome the incovenience of having to boot the PC.

    Also, tools like AnyDVD which eliminate the need for RPC1 firmware hacks and the ability to rip and play off hard disk and join multiple-DVD movies like LoTR etc. also add a lot of convenience for me.

    What are your reasons for considering ditching the PC?
     
  5. CrispyXUK

    CrispyXUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,714
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Land of the Living, Essex
    Ratings:
    +33
    Pretty much the fact that I can only display to a projector and not a tv at the same time, I havent found a work around for this yet and its driving me mad

    any ideas?
     
  6. Branxx

    Branxx
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2000
    Messages:
    801
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    What other solutions (not involving a PC) are you considering that will enable to display the images the way you want?
     
  7. KraGorn

    KraGorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    4,740
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Warrington
    Ratings:
    +27
    No ideas I'm afraid, I only view PC-based material on the projector, my TV comes via cable which I switch between an LCD and the pj as needs dictate .. sadly the ability to run two devices at the same time seems to be black art which few manage to get working satisfactorily, largely based on Windows' interference it seems to me, the video hardware is perfectly capable but Windows' multi-display management is the weak link. :(
     
  8. CrispyXUK

    CrispyXUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,714
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Land of the Living, Essex
    Ratings:
    +33
    Was thinking of swapping the HTPC for a DVD Player of similar value and a Freeview box.

    This way I can ouput to any display and wont have any 50/60hz jerky problems.

    I'm just not sure though.
     
  9. CrispyXUK

    CrispyXUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,714
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Land of the Living, Essex
    Ratings:
    +33
    so does no one have an htpc connected to multile displays?
     
  10. Cerbera

    Cerbera
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    22
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have my HTPC connected via VGA to my projector and also to the TV via s-video which both work at the same time if necessary. As long as they are connected before the PC is switched on they get recognised. This is using an ATI AIW 9000 card with no specific configuration needed. It just works !!
     
  11. RobsterD

    RobsterD
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2000
    Messages:
    870
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +12
    I have :D
    Running a Radeon 9500 Pro with a Panny AE500 PJ via DVI and a Panny PWD4 plasma via VGA ,when I power up the PC it takes the res of the PJ 1280x720,I then just switch the res in Pstrip to 856x480 if reqd.
    The setup works really well now and is really stable.I must admit if I have resolution probs I have PC anywhere and log on from upstairs to change to the correct res,it works !
    Also am now using a Maudio 24/96 outputting analogue to an Audio Innovations valve amp,sound quality is great and am now busy ripping with EAC.Sweetspot handles Sky, though havn't bothered with recording as PQ IMO is poor using Showshifter etc
    Dont give up mate the HCPC solution does work.
    Rob
     
  12. Branxx

    Branxx
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2000
    Messages:
    801
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    If you have standalone DVD and Freeview box, how are you going to make the same source appear on both screen, e.g. how would you displays Freeview picture on projector and simultaneously on TV?
     
  13. alexs2

    alexs2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Messages:
    13,895
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,674
    There'd be no way I'd do that now,having had my HCPC for over a year,and DVD players prior to that.
    Image quality is better than most,and the convenience and versatility mean it will only be replaced with a better one...some day.
     
  14. SimonInd

    SimonInd
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2001
    Messages:
    209
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +2
    I've got a cheap as chips FX5200 in my HTPC and it displays 1:1 mapped VGA onto my AE100 projector and PAL via S-video on my TV. This is done using the nVidia drivers, switching resolutions ( and the primary display for overlay ) between 856x480(projector) and 720x576(TV). Both displays work in parallel but the different resolutions optimse things for a particuar display.

    My PC now replaces the CD/DVD player, Freeview box and VCR and is better at the job than the box it replaces. On top of that you've got the potential for streaming video and music around the house - I'll not be going back anytime soon....

    Simon
     

Share This Page

Loading...