1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Anyone got a Yamaha RX-V650

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Baldster, May 11, 2004.

Tags:
  1. Baldster

    Baldster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Messages:
    114
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Am thinking of getting the Yamaha RX-V650 to solve Plasma / Sky+ lipsync issues. Anyone got one and any comments on how good it is, and whether delay function is OK and usable ??
    Thanks.
     
  2. macdaddy

    macdaddy
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    296
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +26
    Just installed yesterday - main resason was for SKY+ lip synch problem.

    ..................................................YES it works!!!!
    haven't figured out what everything else does yet!
     
  3. dimes

    dimes
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Have a Plasma, grab an RXV750 for the video up-conversion to component. Easier for video switching while being rather helpful for installation.
     
  4. Sonnyboy

    Sonnyboy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm beginner with these but also considering RX-V650 or alternatively H/K avr 230. Where and why would I need the "video up-conversion to component"?
    Where is it needed?

    Thanks! :lease:
     
  5. Dfour

    Dfour
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2004
    Messages:
    3,992
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Bracknell
    Ratings:
    +85
    It mainly for use to change s-video/composite eg. dvd/sky to componant video eg. plasma, when the source doesnt have componant out :lesson:
     
  6. zoolap

    zoolap
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    594
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Ratings:
    +7
    Can you actually get an RXV-750 as avland says that only YAMAHA DSP-AX750 (hence no receiver). Does this mean no fm reciever for this model in UK?
     
  7. ktng

    ktng
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2004
    Messages:
    171
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Correct - Yamaha aren't releasing the receiver version here in the UK, but they have said that they will provide warranty support if you can get hold of one from elsewhere in Europe.
     
  8. bobbypunk

    bobbypunk
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    however the dspax750 is tuned for stereo playback in UK model!!
     
  9. zoolap

    zoolap
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    594
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Ratings:
    +7
    I guess I can live without the receiver - it's just that it would have been nice to have something other than my clock radio. I can never be bothered t retune the clock radio.
     
  10. fama

    fama
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2002
    Messages:
    142
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Im looking to buy a 750 would like to buy amp only
    but as cheapest uk price I see is £499 I wont
    instead probably buy rx 750 receiver from germany
    £312 plus postage
    uk prices are just OTT
     
  11. ktng

    ktng
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2004
    Messages:
    171
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well 750 amp is £450 here and here if that helps - still pricey, but I don't think any of the German retailers have the receiver in stock yet.
     
  12. Dfour

    Dfour
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2004
    Messages:
    3,992
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Bracknell
    Ratings:
    +85
    Yamaha are being very slow in stocking up the German mail order firms. Many poeple on here are still having problems buying the 1400 and its been out for a few months now!
     
  13. zoolap

    zoolap
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    594
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Ratings:
    +7
    I looked at HifiBitz and I'm wondering whether it would be worth purchasing the 3 year extended warranty. Thing is (touch wood), my Sony STRDB-940 has been going from 2001 to now without problems.
     
  14. lennox23

    lennox23
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am also considering the RXV-650 , to go with some KEF KHT 2005.2 speakers and the new Panasonic 42" viera plasma. I have been recommedned the Yamaha AX750SE but am put off by the lack of tuner and the only diffrence I can see to the RXV650 is 100w vs 95w power. The 650 is also c 100quid cheaper.

    Im not familar with the lip sync problem mentioned earlier in this thread, but I would need to play my sky box through whatever I get. Anyone got any views on the merits of the RXV 650 vs the AVX 750 SE?
     
  15. steve 111

    steve 111
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    551
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Newport, Gwent
    Ratings:
    +1
    Lennox,
    I believe the 750 also upconverts to component should you wish to pass all your video inputs through the amp, useful if you don't want a load of cales going to your plasma.
     
  16. lennox23

    lennox23
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Steve, I appreciate your reply. That sounds a nice feature. Do you think ther would be any noticeable deterioration in quality by connecting through the amp rather then direct to the plasma? Also can you advise what the issue is on the lyp synching point earlier in the thread?


    Lennox
     
  17. Nobber22

    Nobber22
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,977
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +109
    Why bother with the tuner in a receiver? Just use Sky IMO. :)
     
  18. steve 111

    steve 111
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    551
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Newport, Gwent
    Ratings:
    +1
    Some say there is a deterioration in PQ if you pass your video signal through the amp. If there is, my view is that it is absolutely minimal.

    The Lip-sync feature is very useful if you are watching Sky with a Plasma, as it is common to find vision and sound out of sync. The amp will allow you to input a sound delay such that everything is back in sync. I would not buy an amp without this feature if you are planning to watch Sky on plasma.
     

Share This Page

Loading...