Anyone got a diagram to connect TV/DVD etc

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by sswf224, Jan 4, 2012.

  1. sswf224

    sswf224
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all (again).

    Here is my setup - but behind the TV its a mess - so thought about tidying and starting the connection of everything again.

    But I cant find a diagram.

    1) TV (2 scarts , 4 hdmi's/and of course the red/yellow/white AV's)

    2) SKY HD

    3) DVD player

    4) Wii

    5) PS3

    I really would like an idiots guide - ie

    TV scart 1 to DVD

    That would be really helpful

    Many thanks
     
  2. Ross82

    Ross82
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    Messages:
    202
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +12
    2) SKY HD: hdmi 1

    3) DVD player: hdmi 2 or scart 1 (depending on connection type)

    4) Wii: RCA (red/white/yellow) or scart 2 (depending on connection type)

    5) PS3: hdmi 3

    Guessing of course sky hd would be the most used.
    Otherwise move ps3 up in place of DVD etc etc

    :)

    no diagram. I'm on my phone.
     
  3. Member 79251

    Member 79251
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Messages:
    13,425
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    ?
    Ratings:
    +2,187
    No need:

    SKY HD - via HDMI

    DVD player - via HDMI or Scart. (I would maybe remove the dvd player as your PS3 can play dvd's).

    4) Wii - via the connection cable that came with it. I think its a scart adapter.

    5) PS3 - via HDMI.

    If your TV and everything else are on a stand I would remove all the cables that connect each device and then do each one at a time.
     
  4. sswf224

    sswf224
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks very much - thats brill - if I wanted to add a Sharp Soundbar - would that just be Av out on TV to Woofer Box ?
     
  5. Member 79251

    Member 79251
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Messages:
    13,425
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    ?
    Ratings:
    +2,187
    Yes. Then anything the TV plays your box will also output.
     
  6. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    27,410
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,228
    It all depends on the Soundbar and the TV!

    Its best to work on actual kit specs rather than general assumptions.

    So Make, Model and a link to Tech Spec/User manuals for your DVD, TV and proposed Soundbar would be good.

    Joe
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice