1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Anyone experience using 2 monitors?

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Stuart Wright, Mar 25, 2003.

  1. Stuart Wright

    Stuart Wright
    AVForums Founder Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2000
    Messages:
    13,744
    Products Owned:
    6
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    Ratings:
    +9,412
    Hi Folks,
    I have a 1600x1200 desktop on a 22" monitor.
    And there's not enough desktop space!
    Particularly using my web authoring software I 'd like to have twice the desktop space.
    So I'm thinking about swapping my 22" monitor for 2 19" Iiyama TFT displays side-by-side running at 1600x1200 and spreading the desktop over the two.
    I have a Radeon 9700Pro so I have the right graphics card to do this.
    Has anyone any experience doing something like this?
    Does it achieve the solution needed?
    Thx
     
  2. JSW

    JSW
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2002
    Messages:
    4,219
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Staffs
    Ratings:
    +300
    yes it will work how you want it too.
     
  3. Dubbing Mixer

    Dubbing Mixer
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    643
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    By, and sometimes in, the sea
    Ratings:
    +2
    Been using a Matrox based set-up for ages. Can be annoying when windows insist on popping up half on one, half on the other. In theory I should be able to set it up not to do this but in practice... However this may well be a Matrox thing.

    Go for it and you'll never look back. The only thing I've done which has helped productivity even more is a 4 port KVM switch so I can instantly switch between up to 4 PCs (single screen :-( )
     
  4. JSW

    JSW
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2002
    Messages:
    4,219
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Staffs
    Ratings:
    +300
    Extending the desktop between two monitors is easy with the radeon and you can have totally different apps running on each screen.

    What I am having difficulty with is getting a morrored display. IE the same display on each screen.

    There is allways this software to make it a lot more simple though:
    http://www.realtimesoft.com/ultramon/ at a price though.
     
  5. MuFu

    MuFu
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,191
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    NW2, London
    Ratings:
    +4
    If investing that much in two identical TFTs I'd consider getting a PCI video card for a second DVI feed or swapping out your 9700 Pro for something with 2 x TMDS capability. Options are limited if you want the best gaming performance though. =\

    MuFu.
     
  6. Stuart Wright

    Stuart Wright
    AVForums Founder Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2000
    Messages:
    13,744
    Products Owned:
    6
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    Ratings:
    +9,412
    Gaming is important. Presumably I can use with the two monitors and then when I want to go gaming, easily switch back to one.

    The problem I have is opening two documents and moving material between them. If I tile vertically or horizontally I just don't get enough of each. With 2 monitors I hope to be able to copy and drag and drop between the two with each one on a different monitor.

    I was looking at
    http://www.ebuyer.com/customer/products/index.html?product_uid=30161

    any comments re better suppliers/models?
     
  7. tomson

    tomson
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2000
    Messages:
    1,918
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Berk'amsted
    Ratings:
    +187
    Would you consider a nice big wide screen monitor?
    I've used a few multiple screen set ups but always found a single widescreen a much simpler, and easier to use solution. The downside of course is price... :thumbsdow

    As for ebuyer - i cant fault the service i've had from them in the past.
     
  8. JSW

    JSW
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2002
    Messages:
    4,219
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Staffs
    Ratings:
    +300
  9. Kramer

    Kramer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Samsung 191Ts would be my choice ;)

    [edit]

    Sorry Spectre, just noticed the Iiyamas are 1600x1200 :eek:

    Samsung & most others are only 1280x1024. Still prefer the Samsungs though - fab monitors :smashin:

    How about the 24" Sony widescreen CRT - nice too.
     
  10. Stuart Wright

    Stuart Wright
    AVForums Founder Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2000
    Messages:
    13,744
    Products Owned:
    6
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    Ratings:
    +9,412
    Thanks, Guys. That ACER, JSW, doesn't do 1600x1200.
    I hadn't considered a widescreen monitor. Never heard of them, to be honest. Got some examples?
    Price IS an issue.
     
  11. Stuart Wright

    Stuart Wright
    AVForums Founder Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2000
    Messages:
    13,744
    Products Owned:
    6
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    Ratings:
    +9,412
    Should have specified. Need 1600x1200 and low depth of TFT LCD otherwise the monitors would overhand my desk too much.
    Not an issue with 1 monitor cos it acn go in the corner but with 2...
     
  12. iwatkins

    iwatkins
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  13. Stuart Wright

    Stuart Wright
    AVForums Founder Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2000
    Messages:
    13,744
    Products Owned:
    6
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    Ratings:
    +9,412
    Had a good look, thanks. The 24" CRT is 55cm deep - too big for my desk. Plus it's somewhat pricey. The widescreen TFT is out of the question until I'm unspeakably rich.
     
  14. Branxx

    Branxx
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2000
    Messages:
    801
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    Spectre,

    I would suggest you look for an LCD monitor with very narrow frame in black or other dark colour. I recently saw very nice Samsungs badged as Dell that are reasonably cheap.

    I've been using 2 monitor set-up at home for sevral years on both my general purpose PC and HTPC. ATI Radeon cards are much better for this purpose as Matrox. Radeno 9700Pro should do very nicely.
     
  15. tomson

    tomson
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2000
    Messages:
    1,918
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Berk'amsted
    Ratings:
    +187
    Apple make some nice (and very good) LCD widescreens. Theres a 23inch High defiinition 1920x1200 for about £1700 dunno if it'd give you enough desktop space tho.


    hmmm... the link no longer works :thumbsdow
     
  16. jbalat

    jbalat
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you have lots of money to spend you can check this stuff out (vrheadsets)...

    http://www.cwonline.com/store/view_category.asp?Category=15

    I remember running some software ages ago that made the windows enviroment 3d. Thus you can have multiple apps going all around you while you zoom and pan with the headset ???
     
  17. Mr_Belowski

    Mr_Belowski
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Messages:
    777
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Loughborough
    Ratings:
    +281
    It's also worth noting that some of the Radeon's dual display capabilities are a little buggy.

    We've got FireGLs (essentially Radeon 8500s) here at work and the dual monitor support is dreadful. With 2 monitors (one on the DVI, one on the VGA) the drivers disable all hardware acceleration (direct3D AND directDraw) so performance is horrible.

    Worse still, when you disable the second monitor in Display Properties it usually crashes the PC with a "device failure" error message (this is in Windows XP).

    My advice? Do plenty of research before investing, and if possible try hooking your card up to two standard monitors and before you invest in two expensive LCD displays. That way you can check if the 9700 will do what you need it to without causing system instability and other headaches.
     

Share This Page

Loading...