Anyone ever bought Cyberlink PowerDVD recently?

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by Foebane72, Feb 25, 2014.

  1. Foebane72

    Foebane72
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2006
    Messages:
    3,414
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Ratings:
    +279
    Within the last five years, I mean.

    The thing about this DVD/Blu playback software for PCs is that they're constantly releasing patches, but what I don't like is that they're always plugging their latest version for you to buy.

    This implies to me that at some point the version of the software you bought (for me, v11) will soon stop working and you HAVE to buy the latest version.

    Has this happened to anyone?

    I already have a standalone Blu-ray player and I was thinking of getting another one, but I already have the PC as the second Blu-ray player - so is it not worth it simply to have the PC as the second? The PC after all does have the 1080p screen.

    But has PowerDVD ever failed on you after a few years?
     
  2. kav

    kav
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    25,494
    Products Owned:
    10
    Products Wanted:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +13,816
    It was bundled with my motherboard software a few years ago, I uninstalled it as it seemed to constantly want to update. When I put a disc in, I want it to play, not have to faff around for half an hour with updates.
     
  3. Foebane72

    Foebane72
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2006
    Messages:
    3,414
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Ratings:
    +279
    Did that software play Blu-rays? That format constantly requires upgrades, it seems.
     
  4. kav

    kav
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    25,494
    Products Owned:
    10
    Products Wanted:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +13,816
    Yes, it was the BD part that gave me the most problems.
     
  5. Foebane72

    Foebane72
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2006
    Messages:
    3,414
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Ratings:
    +279
    It's funny, but my standalone BD player has only ever been plugged into the broadband ONCE in its life (and that was about two years ago) and it's played every BD going ever since.

    I would play DVDs on the PC but the drive doesn't seem to like them: it vibrates noisily only when DVDs are put in.
     
  6. Courtjezter

    Courtjezter
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    6,852
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,646
    Does VLC not do the same as PowerDVD but a lot free-er?
     
  7. Rock Danger

    Rock Danger
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    11,374
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Belfast - Northern Ireland
    Ratings:
    +5,131
    Did anyone ever buy Power Dvd? I thought it was in the group of things stolen off the net like Office and Adobe.

    VLC will awkwardly manage some BD playback last I checked, but the clinker for me was the adverts and nonsense shoved on to the disc. A wee quick run thru DVDFab and you have a 1:1 copy in mkv format that will play DTSMA or any other high rez audio via MPC-HC or XBMC, both of which are free.

    I now have no dedicated BD player anymore and just rip the movies.

    For genuine BD playback software, I believe Total Media Theatre is what the kids rave about these days.
     
  8. Foebane72

    Foebane72
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2006
    Messages:
    3,414
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Ratings:
    +279
    You rip the movies. I see. So you don't want the full BD experience?
     
  9. Rock Danger

    Rock Danger
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    11,374
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Belfast - Northern Ireland
    Ratings:
    +5,131
    What do you consider that to be? You mean deleted scenes and commentary? I'm not huge on those, but I can also rip that to a sub folder if / should I want. The sound and picture remain a 1:1 copy.

    If you mean menus then, no not really. I appreciate some of the design and interface art - but If i'm honest I'd rather get to the movie where hopefully Scar Jo is in something tight... in space!
    (I'm still waiting on this movie btw)
     
  10. Foebane72

    Foebane72
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2006
    Messages:
    3,414
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Ratings:
    +279
    Fair enough, but this DVDFab thing looks expensive, and I don't relish the thought of fiddling about just to get the audio to work.

    Then again, I have used DVD rippers in the past and I found DVD Decryptor quite useful, so I can't take the high road.

    So is DVDFab and those free tools really the best way to go? I would prefer to play the media on an HDD, even though it'd be one disc at a time for me, and it would make the best of the 1080p display. And the picture would not be transcoded?
     
  11. richardb70

    richardb70
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    5,245
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +2,460
    Errrm, you realise there's a dedicated HTPC forum where this kind of thing is discussed regularly? :smashin:
     
  12. stephenbarnes

    stephenbarnes
    Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Messages:
    4,872
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +846
    Does Media Player Home Cinema play back DVD's and BD's? I use it for the HTPC MKV and AVI files and it's brill.
     
  13. Epicurus

    Epicurus
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    Messages:
    3,706
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +696
    There are other forums here?
     
  14. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    24,289
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +13,029
    TMT for me.

    Not updated for years! Running the latest version which supports HD-DVD, it must be at least 2 years old. No prompts to upgrade, even though i must have a few free updates/upgrades waiting for me, LOL
     
  15. IronGiant

    IronGiant
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Messages:
    66,440
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    .
    Ratings:
    +46,645
    I bought whichever version of PowerDVD it was that I needed to play Blu-rays (which involved an upgrade to 12 ) and while it sometimes prompts me that I'm missing out if I don't upgrade to 13 I don't find it too obtrusive.
     
  16. Rock Danger

    Rock Danger
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    11,374
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Belfast - Northern Ireland
    Ratings:
    +5,131
    Not BD structure no. I use MPC-HC to playback .mkv with DTSMA / True HD.
     
  17. DVD-Man

    DVD-Man
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Messages:
    8,580
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ayrshire, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +1,932
    I got fed up with the constant patches and bought a dedicated player.
     
  18. Foebane72

    Foebane72
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2006
    Messages:
    3,414
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Ratings:
    +279
    As long as PowerDVD is working I'll continue to use it.

    The upgrade adverts aren't really a problem, but what I don't like is the endless "recommendations" and "rate this movie" and so forth and so forth that come with something called "MoovieLive!" that come up every time I start a disc.

    Then there's the unusual issues that happen like when I click on fullscreen and the playback screen vanishes! Only the background graphic was on screen, and no amount of Alt-Tabbing would bring it back for good, even though it was there in the windows list!

    What I think I'll do is to start using it as my main player and see how I get on. It's only for BDs anyway as the drive doesn't like DVDs.
     
  19. Sniper Ash6

    Sniper Ash6
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Messages:
    27,857
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Ratings:
    +7,675
    VLC for DVDs
    Total Media Theatre for BDs - got it cheap via a Christmas deal or some other "holiday" deal
     
  20. nheather

    nheather
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    19,746
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Horsham, West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +10,028
    I thought you were going to say just what I was thinking.

    But not quite - I was thinking "does anyone buy this, it just turns up free with other things".

    Probably because, I build/upgrade PCs but it seems every time I buy a motherboard, graphics card, optical drive (sometimes) I get yet another bundled copy.

    Cheers,

    Nigel
     
  21. Rock Danger

    Rock Danger
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    11,374
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Belfast - Northern Ireland
    Ratings:
    +5,131
    No, but now you mention it, I remember it myself from building for people too.. and there was the other Dvd software and the obligatory copy of Nero. But they were almost all limited or trials in some way which just led to people going online and yoinking them.
     

Share This Page

Loading...