Anybody here program using C#? Where to start....

The Dreamer

Distinguished Member
Reaction score
I used to be a programmer, back in the days of 6502 and Z80 Assembly language coding. But have never written in any high-level language (aside from a spot of BBC BASIC a long, long, time ago)!

I probably have a need to write a movie scraper to keep my ageing Mede8er players going, as the in-built scrapers no longer work properly with the various movie databases, corrupting the images. So looking to create something along the lines of YAMJ, or YADIS - but with an easy to use GUI.

Just wondering where to start?

Visual Studio seems the obvious choice, and looking at the API documentation for TVDB.com, I think the code appears to be in some sort of C - not sure yet how to 'talk' to that - but baby steps first.

Should I be looking at C#, or Visual BASIC?

If C#, where do I begin to learn this stuff? Plenty of paid for courses available - but looking for stuff I can do myself; books and the like.

So, any recommendations?

TIA

Unless you're learning the language for another purpose e.g. employment, I'd just use an off-the-shelf tool.

Unless you're learning the language for another purpose e.g. employment, I'd just use an off-the-shelf tool.

Unfortunately, there is no off the shelf tool that does what I need.

Scraping the stuff from TVDB etc. is just a part of what I need. To be able to combine poster, fanart, and XML data into a background for display on the Mede8er. Like this....

fanart.jpg

+

poster.jpg

=

preview.jpg

There were tools that did this, YAMJ, YADIS, etc. but they no longer work - or at least not reliably, likewise the Mede8er itself; TVDB is changing it's API to a 'paid for' service, and as a part of that, has changed the format of it's jpeg files, such that they no longer work on the Mede8er without 'resaving' to strip out the 'corrupted' data.