1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Anybody else have a Casino disk problem?

Discussion in 'Movie Forum' started by Andy H, Jun 12, 2005.

  1. Andy H

    Andy H
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    81
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +6
    Help!

    Ordered Casino (the new one) from Movietyme other week and it turned up tue.

    Just started to watch this afternoon really looking forward to it and there's a major problem with it.

    91 min in dead on the layer change it starts to pixelate and completely lock up leaving it unwatchable.

    Planning to email Movietyme now but wanted to ask if anybody else has this problem, in particular from Movietyme's first batch like myself.

    I'm hoping it could be just this one otherwise it could be the whole first pressing.

    Cheers!
     
  2. MrNPG

    MrNPG
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2005
    Messages:
    714
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Poole, Dorset
    Ratings:
    +44
    Hi Andy, I haven't yet got this disc but as you have it, can you please confirm whether the movie is all on one side of the disc or is it spread across two sides/discs?

    Cheers.
     
  3. Andy H

    Andy H
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    81
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +6
    movie side a, extras side b.
     
  4. MrNPG

    MrNPG
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2005
    Messages:
    714
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Poole, Dorset
    Ratings:
    +44
    Cheers Andy.
     
  5. the_pauley

    the_pauley
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +198
    Hmmm. This sounds ominously familiar.

    Out of nearly 3,000 discs I have only ever had problems with 4 and these are all recently produced double-sided discs, all exhibiting the same problems on 3 different DVD players. One I have had replaced by the distributor with a working copy(Outer Limits - Original Series: Season 2 R1), another (Giant R2) I was informed by the manager at HMV's Manchester store was coming back in droves as a faulty disc.

    Two others I'm still waiting for word from Fox in the USA.

    All earlier double sided discs I own appear to be OK, just those purchased within the past 12 months or so have been dodgy.
     
  6. Roughneck1

    Roughneck1
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Andy - no other customers have yet reported this issue.
    I myself have this one so will be watching it over the weekend so will advise.
     
  7. thesnowman

    thesnowman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2003
    Messages:
    271
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    just recieved my copy today, I'll be sure to check it out later tonight if theres any problems.
     
  8. BrianC

    BrianC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Messages:
    2,190
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +101
    I also get the same problem with my copy of Casino 10th ani edition - but in three places.

    Faulty batch, or faulty across the board?
     
  9. charlie55

    charlie55
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Messages:
    1,241
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Falkirk
    Ratings:
    +70
    recieved my copy on friday from cd-wow played right thru no problems this evening.
     
  10. Steve Davies

    Steve Davies
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    70
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +2
    I've got the same problem with my R1 copy from CD-Wow
     
  11. Rambo John J

    Rambo John J
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2000
    Messages:
    3,789
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Hanoi Hilton
    Ratings:
    +1,014
    My R1 from Pacific has the same problem
     
  12. pauwoo

    pauwoo
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Messages:
    51
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    My region one copy also freezes and stops at a certain point.

    I'm going to replace it with a region 2 copy, that one seems to be a better package.
     

Share This Page

Loading...