Any Yamaha 640 or Marantz SR5400?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Techno, Apr 26, 2004.

Tags:
  1. Techno

    Techno
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2003
    Messages:
    312
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi

    I've decided to buy one of the following.

    Marantz is probably better but costs a little more. Yamaha has some good reviews and basically has want I want.

    My question please is, does anybody with one of these know if the Sky/Sky+ remote can be programmed to control the volume, similar to controlling a TV?

    Thanks
     
  2. tuftus

    tuftus
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    I have a 640 and cannot get the Sky controller to get the volume to work, I could not get the yamaha control to work the sky either after both emailing yamaha and speaking to sky.

    Hope this helps.

    Andy
     
  3. andy121

    andy121
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Remember that the new V650 is released next month - so that may be worth looking at ...
     
  4. dynamic turtle

    dynamic turtle
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,524
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Central London
    Ratings:
    +17
    The 640 rocks baby :clap: !!

    Endless, endless hours of DSP fun at your fingertips......
     
  5. Gatto

    Gatto
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would opt for the Marantz. The power amps built into this receiver are better then the Yamaha.
     
  6. Techno

    Techno
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2003
    Messages:
    312
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanks for the replies everybody.

    Ordered the Marantz this morning before anybody had replied - good price from QED and she arrives tomorrow:clap:

    Hope I can control the volume or it's going to cost me for a Pronto:thumbsdow
     
  7. Ed Selley

    Ed Selley
    AVF Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    Messages:
    11,229
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,716
    I'm pretty sure it can't but it will probably control your telly and the $ky+ volume by dint of being plugged into it.
     
  8. Falp

    Falp
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,685
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Lisbon
    Ratings:
    +0
    Great Choice!

    The Marantz is a far better all-rounder, better musically and also great for Home Cinema!

    The Yamaha is a great choise for movies and effects only.
     
  9. dishdoc

    dishdoc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Messages:
    644
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    The Toon ! !
    Ratings:
    +23
    hi

    Just regarding controlling yamaha rx volume with sky+ remote, it is possible, coz I control my rx v1400 volume with my sky+ remote. Will try to dig out where I found info.

    cheers

    dishdoc
     
  10. Techno

    Techno
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2003
    Messages:
    312
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Dish, that's just what I wanted to hear - thanks. Any further info appreciated.

    Cheers
     
  11. dishdoc

    dishdoc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Messages:
    644
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    The Toon ! !
    Ratings:
    +23
  12. Techno

    Techno
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2003
    Messages:
    312
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Star man Dishdoc, thanks for that.

    The gear's all sat here waiting to be set up - roll on Saturday.

    Cheers

    Techno
     
  13. dishdoc

    dishdoc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Messages:
    644
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    The Toon ! !
    Ratings:
    +23
    No problem, techno - glad to help :clap:
     
  14. Techno

    Techno
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2003
    Messages:
    312
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    It works!

    Sky+ remote controls volume on Marantz.

    Thanks for your help.

    Cheers
    Tech.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice