Any way to monitor CPU activity in-game?

Discussion in 'PC Gaming & Rigs' started by Four quid mate, Feb 22, 2013.

  1. Four quid mate

    Four quid mate

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Messages:
    914
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Hereford, UK
    Ratings:
    +147
    Hi folks,

    I'm just wondering, is there any software out there that let you monitor CPU activity/usage in-game? Something like the Afterburn on-screen display but for your CPU.

    I know you can minimize the game and look at the task manager, but every time I minimize the game and open it the usage and activity drops and never gives me an accurate reading of what's going on whilst under heavy load in-game.

    So is this possible at all or am I talking nonsense?

    Cheers
     
  2. bladedripper

    bladedripper
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    5,071
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +1,527
    Get a G13 and use coretemp..:D
     
  3. Siochain

    Siochain
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    678
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Co. Kildare
    Ratings:
    +187
    I use HWiNFO. HWiNFO . Here is a Guide on setting it up. If you have any difficulties setting it up post here and i'll explain if I can.
     
  4. majnu

    majnu
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    15,087
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +3,534
    Ahh another G13 user :p Real Temp is another app which the lcd Logitech keyboards supports too.
     
  5. tk2001

    tk2001
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2001
    Messages:
    1,402
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +36
    +1 for HWiNFO & MSI Afterburner.

    Heres a screen capture of Mirrors Edge which shows the following:

    CPU clockspeed
    CPU usage per core
    Temp for each core

    [​IMG]



    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Feb 23, 2013
  6. Tall_Paul

    Tall_Paul
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    Messages:
    8,567
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +2,172
    2 monitors ;):smashin:
     
  7. Four quid mate

    Four quid mate

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Messages:
    914
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Hereford, UK
    Ratings:
    +147
    Cheers, this works a treat.

    And as expected it's time for a new CPU, CORE 1 whilst playing Crysis 3 is going over 95% usage.
     
  8. Tom Martow

    Tom Martow
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2012
    Messages:
    3,876
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,100
    I use HWINFO with MSI Afterburner OSD, works like a treat, it won't work when you apply any ENB or anything similar like that.
     
  9. gtsbaby

    gtsbaby
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,515
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    St Helens
    Ratings:
    +655
    Enb?
     
  10. Tom Martow

    Tom Martow
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2012
    Messages:
    3,876
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,100
    Graphical enhancements to games, you know like your GtAIV ENB, Skyrim ENB, stuff like that.
     
  11. namuk

    namuk
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    22,187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,332
    best way is get an external usb monitor for example this Nanovision 7" Touch screen Monitor USB Powered - UM-720S - Scan.co.uk or even a Lilliput Usb type, you can even get a touch screen monitor :D

    then use AIDA64 or other utils on this then you can monitor everything in game and there is no faffing around enabling in game (unless a fps counter) and that's if the games support internal monitoring as some games do not, this i what i do now well for a while, you will be amazed what games support extra threads even fully use your Graphics card,mem,bandwidth ect also very handy for watching temps which can be handy.
     

Share This Page

Loading...