1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Any way to improve Denon 550's sound?

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi Stereo Systems & Separates' started by e-solo, Apr 15, 2005.

1. e-solo

e-solo

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    For a complete novice who happened to have Denon 550 home theatre and a pair of “Acoustic Energy Aegis EVO Three” floorstanders, what is the most efficient way to make this setup sound better then playing back music CDs? Do I need a 2-way amplifier? A separate CD player? I already have a 6-way amplifier, DVD/CD player, 5 small speakers and a subwoofer – i.e. one-box Denon 550. But I am disappointed with the sound even if I use my floorstanders and sw in a standard stereo mode (i.e. w/out the small Denon speakers). I thought I might need a separate 2-way amplifier but have no idea which one? Will I then have to disconnect the floorstanders and the subwofer from the 2-way ampf and connect them to the 6-way one each time I switch from listening to music CDs to watching movies? Would appreciate your comments and sorry if these are silly questions. :hiya:

2. karkus30

karkus30
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,261
    IMO the only way I have managed to do this is using two seperate systems, one purely for H/C and one for HiFi 2 channel duties. There must be ways of improving your present system, but it usually means getting a dedicated CD player at least and its still a compromise. Quite often a budget 2 channel set up will leave a more expensive HC system in the dust when playing conventional discs.

3. Paul Williams

Paul Williams

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +15
    Hi e-solo