any tropical fish experts here?

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by ianlecompte, Aug 27, 2012.

  1. ianlecompte

    ianlecompte
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    954
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    oxfordshire
    Ratings:
    +13
    Just set up a tank for my daughter, allowed it to run for a couple of weeks before adding 3 tiger barbs, within 10 hours 2 had died. We then went to a different local store to ask for advice and buy a water test kit. When they heard where we got the fish they were convinced that they must have been a bad batch as they had heard of problems from this place before. Rather than buying a water test kit they gave us a few more tiger barbs to see how they faired and suggested we bring in some water to be tested.
    Overnight 2 more have died, the water has been tested and all levels are within the correct levels. Everything else appears to be correct so really not sure whats going on, i'm going to leave things as they are for a couple of weeks and retest the water before buying any more fish. Any help or ideas :lease: as to what could possibly be wrong would be most welcome.
    Many thanks
    Ian :smashin:
     
  2. RottenFox

    RottenFox
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    17,179
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    +56°28' 10.92"/-2°59' 21.48"
    Ratings:
    +4,289
    Tiger barbs are quite aggressive in amongst the pack, and will fight and kill others.

    Try some tetras, for example neon tetras, maybe a handful of them, and see how it goes.
     
  3. paulyoung666

    paulyoung666
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2006
    Messages:
    13,510
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Teesside
    Ratings:
    +3,841
    what water test kit did you get , what temperature is the tank ......

    i read it that they only had tiger barbs ....
     
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2012
  4. ianlecompte

    ianlecompte
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    954
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    oxfordshire
    Ratings:
    +13
    Hi. Temp is 24 and the test kit was an off the shelf job that the store did, not convinced that the tiger barbs have been on a murder spree but will not rule anything out yet. We have a couple of neons too and they seem ok... thanks for the help guys..
     
  5. paulyoung666

    paulyoung666
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2006
    Messages:
    13,510
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Teesside
    Ratings:
    +3,841
    was it a liquid test kit like this

    https://www.google.co.uk/search?sou...&gs_upl=0l0l0l2528lllllllllll0&aqi=g4s2&pbx=1

    how did you cycle the tank , i suspect that the tank hasnt cycled and the filter isnt doing its job correctly , have you rechecked the nitrite and ammonia levels , they need to be zero or else fish will die or not last long , if you have a paper strip test kit then bin it and but a liquid test kit , they are far far far more accurate ....
     
  6. ianlecompte

    ianlecompte
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    954
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    oxfordshire
    Ratings:
    +13
    Hi, it was a tablet in a tube job, ph was fine and the nitrate was about 25, whatever that means? when checked against the colour code thing on the box it was within limits. If you say the nitrite and ammonia need to be zero then this could be the prob, it makes sense. The tank was set up and left to run for about 10 days but with no fish or plants. Whats the best thing to do then Paul? i'm thinking to leave it for a couple of weeks and then retest and do a 10% change of water in a week. We have 3 barbs and a couple of neons in there still but i 'm sure they wont last long. Is there anything i can do to help get these nitrate/ammonia levels down?
    Many thanks for your help
    Ian
     
  7. paulyoung666

    paulyoung666
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2006
    Messages:
    13,510
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Teesside
    Ratings:
    +3,841
    Nitrate is fine , its nItrites and ammonia that needs to be zero , ideally I would see if I could get the fish rehomed and then do a fishless cycle with ammonia , if not then you need to get used to doing large ~ 50% water changes everyday to keep the levels in check , slowly but surely you will build up a colony of good bacteria in your filter and you will be good to go ....
     
  8. ianlecompte

    ianlecompte
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    954
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    oxfordshire
    Ratings:
    +13
    ok thanks, i'm going to buy a test kit and do water changes and see how it goes, do i need to change that much water dailly? seems alot, cant re home them as i dont know anyone with a tank, just going to have to hope that they do ok. Thanks for your help Paul
     
  9. paulyoung666

    paulyoung666
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2006
    Messages:
    13,510
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Teesside
    Ratings:
    +3,841
    No problem , what size is the tank ? .....
     
  10. ianlecompte

    ianlecompte
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    954
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    oxfordshire
    Ratings:
    +13
    when doing the water change do i need to put the tap safe stuff in? and i presume that i have to try and match the water temp? i.e add very luke warm water, sorry if this is a stupid question
     
  11. ianlecompte

    ianlecompte
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    954
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    oxfordshire
    Ratings:
    +13
    its 30l, do i need to add tap safe stuff when i do the water change? and should i match the temp as best i can?
     
  12. ianlecompte

    ianlecompte
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    954
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    oxfordshire
    Ratings:
    +13
    sorry, didnt realise that post already went on..
     
  13. ianlecompte

    ianlecompte
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    954
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    oxfordshire
    Ratings:
    +13
    and defo do 50%?
     
  14. paulyoung666

    paulyoung666
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2006
    Messages:
    13,510
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Teesside
    Ratings:
    +3,841
    I would do 50% yes , try and match the temperature , you do know at most you can only have a handful of small fish in there .....
     
  15. ianlecompte

    ianlecompte
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    954
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    oxfordshire
    Ratings:
    +13
    ok, was planning to have about 5-7 tiger barbs and a few neons
     
  16. paulyoung666

    paulyoung666
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2006
    Messages:
    13,510
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Teesside
    Ratings:
    +3,841
    Too many , try putting your stats in at www.aqadvisor.com , very useful to get an idea of what you can have in a tank , whereabouts do you live ....
     
  17. ianlecompte

    ianlecompte
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    954
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    oxfordshire
    Ratings:
    +13
    ok will do, we live in banbury
     
  18. davepuma

    davepuma
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    17,535
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,506
    I would also go to another shop as they should have asked those questions and advised on ammonia/nitrite. Leaving a tank running with no fish in it achieves nothing. You need to feed the filter to start the nitrogen cycle and you can only really achieve this properly by adding pure ammonia (available in Homebase) before adding fish. Once the tank is cycled using this 'fishless cycle' method, the filter is ready to cope with fish waste.

    If you know anyone with a tank, get some filter media and add it to yours. Your filter will probably be ready to accept fish instantly. I have done this for friends and also did it to my own tank with filter from my brothers and it worked perfectly.

    I have found Seachem Prime to be the best value dechlorinator: Seachem Prime 100ml £6.49 - Buy Water Conditioners Accessories
     
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2012
  19. paulyoung666

    paulyoung666
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2006
    Messages:
    13,510
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Teesside
    Ratings:
    +3,841
    There is a way of speeding things up , use some filter media from an established filter , do you know anyone already running a fully setup tank ? ......
     
  20. ianlecompte

    ianlecompte
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    954
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    oxfordshire
    Ratings:
    +13
    my wife tells me she looked at the results of the water tests and says that they were all fine, so really not sure about it all now, sure if anything was overly high and dangerous the test would have shown this? ive just done a water change so hope this will slowly begin to help
     
  21. davepuma

    davepuma
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    17,535
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,506
    Which tests? It is nitrite and ammonia that is most important. I would keep doing the water changes just to make sure.
     
  22. ianlecompte

    ianlecompte
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    954
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    oxfordshire
    Ratings:
    +13
    hi dave, i'm confused! is a dechlorinator the same as adding ammonia? should i use both or one or the other? i used tap safe when adding the water which seems to be the same stuff as you suggest..
     
  23. ianlecompte

    ianlecompte
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    954
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    oxfordshire
    Ratings:
    +13
    tests done were ph, nitrate, nitrites and ammonia
     
  24. ianlecompte

    ianlecompte
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    954
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    oxfordshire
    Ratings:
    +13
    Paul, what do you mean by filter media? so if i'm being daft
     
  25. paulyoung666

    paulyoung666
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2006
    Messages:
    13,510
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Teesside
    Ratings:
    +3,841
    It is the same type of stuff , so let's not worry about that at the moment , unless you are going to remove the fish then forget about adding ammonia , you need to keep the ammonia and nitrite levels right down so the fish survive but the filer grows ammonia and nitrite munching bugs , hence the large frequent after changes .....
     
  26. NorvernRob

    NorvernRob
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,310
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +3,250
    For fish to die within a day something is seriously wrong. I've had dozens of tanks and starting off a new tank with a couple of fish has never ever been a problem.

    A couple of small fish aren't going to kill themselves with their own waste within a few hours.

    I would clean out the tank completely and start again, as it sounds like some sort of contamination to me (any spray air fresheners around, furniture polish, cleaning sprays etc etc?)
     
  27. ianlecompte

    ianlecompte
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    954
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    oxfordshire
    Ratings:
    +13
    hi rob, no nothing around like that, starting to think i should just give up, more bloody hassle than its worth! i agree with your statement though and that was what the guy at the fish place said, it could be so many diff' things i'm getting more confused by the minute...
     
  28. davepuma

    davepuma
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    17,535
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,506
    You will not add any ammonia now as there are fish in there! The fish will add it in the form of urine and solids. That will feed the filter.

    Yes, the tapsafe stuff is the same. I have found Prime to be the best value and also the easiest to dose. Basically enough to cover the bottom of the cap does a 5L bucket.

    The poster above has a good point. Fish shouldn't die within 24 hours. If these ones die, I would definitely consider starting again. Register with one of the tropical fish forums as there will be beginners sections there.

    Re. filter media - get a small piece of sponge, plastic balls or whatever else is in their filter and add it to yours. Keep it warm/wet in a tub and get it to your tank as quickly as possible and it should more or less instantly cycle your tank.
     
  29. paulyoung666

    paulyoung666
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2006
    Messages:
    13,510
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Teesside
    Ratings:
    +3,841
    maybe one of us is close enough to offer some media from their filter , i am too far away , and not sure about the benefits of supplying through the postal system ....

    been where you are kidda :rolleyes: , its worth keeping at it though , it was only a couple of months and i am on my second tank , 190 litres of it ......
     
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2012
  30. ianlecompte

    ianlecompte
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    954
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    oxfordshire
    Ratings:
    +13
    unfortunately the only person close by with a tank is on holiday, were going to continue with the water changes and see how we go, thanks to eveybody for all their help..
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice