Any Steam Users?

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by Dony, Dec 28, 2017.

Tags:
  1. Dony

    Dony
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    18,709
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    near Newry, Co. Down
    Ratings:
    +11,663
    Hopefully some of you are members of the Gaming site Steam and can help out.

    I bought a laptop from Curry's for Christmas and today got an email to Claim my free Intel Software App Pack which includes a few games.
    I've downloaded Steam and set up an account as per the instructions but I can't find where to enter the Promo Code. The instructions read as follows,
    1. Launch the Steam client.
    2. On the top Games menu, "Activate a Product on Steam" and enter this PROMO CODE
    I can't find that option.
     
  2. Toasty

    Toasty
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Messages:
    13,181
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Staffs
    Ratings:
    +4,608
    It's bottom left of the steam window. It may also say something like add game, or a +..
     
  3. IronGiant

    IronGiant
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Messages:
    67,533
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    .
    Ratings:
    +48,314
    steamy.jpg

    Activate a product on Steam is an option under that drop down
     
  4. Dony

    Dony
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    18,709
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    near Newry, Co. Down
    Ratings:
    +11,663
    Still no joy, don't see anything that allows me to add a game.
     
  5. Toasty

    Toasty
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Messages:
    13,181
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Staffs
    Ratings:
    +4,608
    I use the "+ ADD A GAME" shown at the bottom left of @IronGiant image, it brings up the same options the red arrow points to. Do you have a steam account? (Sorry, I'm sure you do)
     
  6. Dony

    Dony
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    18,709
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    near Newry, Co. Down
    Ratings:
    +11,663
    Only setup a new account earlier when I downloaded Steam. However I had a different screen view from IronGiant. I logged out and now trying again.
     
  7. Dony

    Dony
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    18,709
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    near Newry, Co. Down
    Ratings:
    +11,663
    Got it now.....thanks both. :thumbsup:


    Is Dirt 4 any good?? Also got World of Tanks, World of Warships and Dungeons 2 and a few other apps.
     
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2017
  8. Toasty

    Toasty
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Messages:
    13,181
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Staffs
    Ratings:
    +4,608
    Dirt 4 is great, enjoy :smashin:
     
  9. Toasty

    Toasty
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Messages:
    13,181
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Staffs
    Ratings:
    +4,608
    It includes his username if you weren't aware..
     
  10. IronGiant

    IronGiant
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Messages:
    67,533
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    .
    Ratings:
    +48,314
    Same one as on here, so I doubt it's an issue, but thanks for the heads up.
     
  11. Foster

    Foster
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    16,150
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    West Yorks
    Ratings:
    +7,341
    WoT is decent i've played it on and off for 5 years, plenty of content to play.
     
  12. Dony

    Dony
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    18,709
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    near Newry, Co. Down
    Ratings:
    +11,663
    The offer expires at the end of Feb which should give me enough time to download all the games...it's painfully slow with my internet connection.
     
  13. Sebastalona

    Sebastalona
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    18,442
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Caledonia
    Ratings:
    +14,284
    You don't need to download them mate. Just make sure you redeem the codes to your account before the offer expires, and then they are yours to do download whenever you wish.
     
  14. EndlessWaves

    EndlessWaves
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13,935
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Norfolk
    Ratings:
    +2,548
    I haven't played DiRT4 (It's a steam exclusive and I don't like their advertising policies) but the series generally is very good.

    World of Tanks and World of Warships are both free to play games so what you likely got there was a free tank/warship, a pack of consumables or a period of boosted income/progress. They're both good fun.

    I haven't played Dungeons II, it's one of those endless attempts to re-create Dungeon Keeper II that receive 'meh' reviews. Worth a go if it's free).
     
  15. Dony

    Dony
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    18,709
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    near Newry, Co. Down
    Ratings:
    +11,663
    I know I've a slow connection, but this is ridiculous.....currently downloading at approx 250 KB/s meaning I've another 36 hours to go!!
     
  16. imightbewrong

    imightbewrong
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    54,355
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Romford-ish
    Ratings:
    +35,527
    Haven't played WoT but am partial to a bit of War Thunder, which is another free-to-play MMO tank game. Has very a cool damage model.
     
  17. Sebastalona

    Sebastalona
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    18,442
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Caledonia
    Ratings:
    +14,284
    Dony, might be worthwhile checking your download preferences in Steam just to make sure there are no bandwidth limits set for downloads:

    [​IMG]
     
  18. imightbewrong

    imightbewrong
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    54,355
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Romford-ish
    Ratings:
    +35,527
    Should be set 2 unlimited
     
  19. Dony

    Dony
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    18,709
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    near Newry, Co. Down
    Ratings:
    +11,663
    I assume I get to that page via My Profile then preferences......tried clicking on it and getting a message

    upload_2017-12-29_13-18-12.png

    I'm off out soon so I'll let it run til I get back then try again.
     
  20. Sebastalona

    Sebastalona
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    18,442
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Caledonia
    Ratings:
    +14,284
    Correct. Steams servers can be flakey at times, so the issue may be at their end rather than yours. No harm checking those settings I mentioned earlier anyway just to rule it out.
     
  21. Dony

    Dony
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    18,709
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    near Newry, Co. Down
    Ratings:
    +11,663
    Just got onto the servers and all settings are the same as yours...
     
  22. Dony

    Dony
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    18,709
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    near Newry, Co. Down
    Ratings:
    +11,663
    upload_2017-12-29_13-23-41.png
     
  23. Sebastalona

    Sebastalona
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    18,442
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Caledonia
    Ratings:
    +14,284
    What speed is your broadband connection?
     
  24. Dony

    Dony
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    18,709
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    near Newry, Co. Down
    Ratings:
    +11,663
    Boom!!

    upload_2017-12-29_13-27-17.png
     
  25. Sebastalona

    Sebastalona
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    18,442
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Caledonia
    Ratings:
    +14,284
    Jesus, your lucky to be getting 250Kb/s! Did you run that speedtest while the download was still active, or is that your typical result?
     
  26. imightbewrong

    imightbewrong
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    54,355
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Romford-ish
    Ratings:
    +35,527
    I don't remember having a flaky server issue.

    However I have had plenty of 'that game is already running somewhere, so I can't start it' bobbins :mad:
     
  27. Dony

    Dony
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    18,709
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    near Newry, Co. Down
    Ratings:
    +11,663
    That test was done whilst downloading in the background.

    My best download speed is a measly 2.5 Mbps
     
  28. Sebastalona

    Sebastalona
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    18,442
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Caledonia
    Ratings:
    +14,284
    That download rate on Steam is probably the best you are going to get then I’m afraid mate:

    [​IMG]
     
  29. GMC79

    GMC79
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Messages:
    10,667
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +3,187
    Yeah is about right, steam usually gives you decent speeds at the best your broadband can give.
    Had steam downloading cod other day at 8.9/9.0MB/s pretty much constant.

    Feel for you tho as i used to barely get 500KB/s before infinity and was painfull.
    Especially now as games are giant. Biggest i know of is Aerofly FS2 at 145GB.
     

Share This Page

Loading...