Any Sony boxes with Personal Planner?

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by AOD, Oct 1, 2001.

  1. AOD

    AOD
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2001
    Messages:
    710
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +4
    Okay so it's not exactly the end of the world, but as a Sony digibox owner I feel like something of a second class citizen.

    I mean here I am with a digibox that doesn't look like it was hit by the ugly stick, yet months after the much vaunted launch of the Personal Planner still not so much as a sniff! <img src="frown.gif" border="0">

    My last call to Customer (un)Services was fairly fruitless. I managed to ascertain that they had a version number for the new Sony software (it included a couple of b's, I couldn't be bothered to write it down) but they didn't have a clue:

    a) How far along it was<br />b) When it would be released

    Since my VCR went splat (Panny HD610 R.I.P) and I replaced it with a cheap Tosh that can talk digibox (V711UK @ £119) it's not *that* critical, but boy is it annoying!

    Anyone else in the same boat had any better luck? Who are the chief technical bods @ Sky that actually know about this and does anyone have an email address for them?
     
  2. le hutch

    le hutch
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a sony box and I have the personal planner.
     
  3. mart.stokes

    mart.stokes
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    le hutch, which model of Sony digibox have you got? an you post your model number and software version please? I thought this was a major problem for Sky on the Sony boxes. If you are running a model 750 box there will be a lot of people interested in this information.
     
  4. AOD

    AOD
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2001
    Messages:
    710
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +4
    Seconded.

    Please let us know exactly which box model you've got and what version of the software you're running.
     
  5. Doubledoom

    Doubledoom
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Posts to the sky newsgroups have suggested that sky have decided not to put the planner on the 750 due to software incompatabilites
     
  6. AOD

    AOD
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2001
    Messages:
    710
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +4
    Could you elaborate a little more on this?

    Funny how Sky don't seem to want to support the one (non Sky +) box with a digital output.

    Could you point me in the direction of the appropriate newsgroup/post?

    Thanks.
     
  7. battlezone

    battlezone
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Oxford
    Ratings:
    +0
    Following is the reply I got from Sky regarding the Sony boxes. Doesn't really amount to anything that has already been said by others....

    Thank you for your email regarding the Personal Planner.

    Unfortunately, the software for Sony Digiboxes has not been downloaded at<br />the moment. Sky are working closely with Sony to develop and test the<br />software so that it can be downloaded to your Digibox with the minimum of<br />inconvenience to yourself.

    At this point in time we anticipate that the software will be downloaded by<br />Autumn of this year. In the meantime, please accept our apologies for any<br />disappointment caused.

    Yours sincerely

    <br />Heather Smith<br />Customer Care Department<br /> <img src="frown.gif" border="0">
     
  8. Doubledoom

    Doubledoom
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    There are two sony boxes. The 750 and the 760. The 760 is supported but the 750 is not (if the comments in the sky newsgroups are to be believed)

    Newsgroup: uk.tech.tv.sky

    posted 01/10/01 13:45.06 Re: Sony Digibox by Clive Carmock

    "Just called Sky on a related note. The person I spoke to had to refer <br />to their technical department, and as far as they are aware the Personal <br />Planner option will now NOT be provided for Sony digiboxes, so it is <br />possible that is why they have vanished?"

    [ 02-10-2001: Message edited by: Doubledoom ]</p>
     
  9. Doubledoom

    Doubledoom
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Update to this.

    There are now posts being made to the same newsgroup saying there is a software update to the 750 which does include the PP.

    Looks like the other comment was a unfounded rumour.
     
  10. bephipps

    bephipps
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello,

    I also switched on my TV this morning and noticed that I had the EPG on my SONY.

    I am also getting the same squeaking noise and I noticed some lip-synching problems and sound distortion.

    I didn't have time to properly check it out and whether a reboot will clear it. Else, I'll be phoning SKY tonight.
     
  11. battlezone

    battlezone
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2001
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Oxford
    Ratings:
    +0
    Same thing has happened to me regarding artifacts etc. I unplugged the box fo a minute or so and replugged and all has been OK since!! :)
     
  12. RASH PATEL

    RASH PATEL
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2001
    Messages:
    108
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Glad to see, we all have a common problem!
    I will try switching on /off tonight.let
    you know of my resolve.
     
  13. RASH PATEL

    RASH PATEL
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2001
    Messages:
    108
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    Good news on Sony front.I swiched my Telly
    on this morning and to my utter surprise
    there it was:the new EPG with Personal planner.It musthave been upgraded last night!

    Bad news:I found annoying high pitched
    "squeeking" noise like Digital aterfact!
    blasting my ears most of the time.Didn't
    have time to investigate.
    Please let me know if any of you experience
    similar problem.

    I am still Pi.....Of about Sony boxnot able
    to output Dolby Digital stream of its Optical
    Output!
     
  14. AOD

    AOD
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2001
    Messages:
    710
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +4
    How ironic.

    Literally a day or so after I get absolutely zip from customer services, as if by magic the PP appears on my system.

    When I first noticed its presence I immediately noticed the:

    1. Sound dropouts/digital "squeaks".
    2. Lip-sync problems
    3. Sound seems to be "slowed down". Listen to the pitch of vocals on a channel (eg BBC1) and switch to the terrestrial version.

    Happily disconnecting the power and reconnecting seems to have made this go away.

    For anyone still waiting on the EPG, the details of my box are:

    Model Number: S750.42
    Operating System Version: 1.2S4Bc
    EPG Software Version: 2.7bb.9
     
  15. le hutch

    le hutch
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the 760 model....
     

Share This Page

Loading...