Any recommendations for Monitor with built in Freeview?

Discussion in 'Computer Peripherals & Consumables' started by Torin, Jan 21, 2008.

  1. Torin

    Torin
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2003
    Messages:
    68
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Looking for a new monitor for the PC - which has been relocated to edge of dining room as the study is now a nursery.

    With this in mind thinking and thinking ahead i want to know if their are any decent Monitors -19-22 inch that have built in freeview so we could use it for occasional TV watching when main one is hijacked by Dora the Explorer?

    Any idea's or should i be looking at one that will accept a freeview block
     
  2. Andy98765

    Andy98765
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    10,472
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,365
  3. Torin

    Torin
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2003
    Messages:
    68
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi

    Thanks for coming back so fast, it runs XP, not Vista not sure what (MCE stands for), but also wanted to be able to watch it without having to turn on PC
     
  4. Andy98765

    Andy98765
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    10,472
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,365
    MCE is Windows Media centre.

    In that case just look at brands like Samsung, LG, Toshiba etc.
    You will find 19" and 22" TV's are actually PC monitors converted to TV's and the normal res for these is 1440x900 or 1650x1050, TV's that can adapt and be monitors are usually 1368x768 in res.

    What graphics card are you using make/model as it needs to be able to pump out one of the above res's.
     
  5. Torin

    Torin
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2003
    Messages:
    68
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanks

    Can i just clarify, if i go for a Hi res TV as you described i can plug the PC into it but it can still be used as a standalone tv?

    but I also need to ensure my PC's graphics card can transmit at that RES to use the TV as a PC?
     
  6. Andy98765

    Andy98765
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    10,472
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,365
    Ideally the PC graphics card must send in the native res of the TV to get a clear picture.
     

Share This Page

Loading...