1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Any problems using Radeon VE and Power DVD 4?

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by azzo, Jun 3, 2002.

  1. azzo

    azzo
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    999
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wokingham
    Ratings:
    +9
    I am considering getting a Radeon VE as it has no fan. Seems great for HTPC. However I have read on the ATI site that the hardware acceleration does not work on PowerDVD 4.0.
    Is this true? I thought this would be the most likely combination for a HTPC use. Oh and I'll be using XP or W98.

    Many thanks.

    Azzo
     
  2. Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a Radeon VE and use PowerDVD 4 with no probs, that said I dont use hardware acceleration. Just make sure your CPU is fast enough for the job, mine is a AMD Tbird 900Mhz and it works a treat.
     
  3. tk

    tk
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2001
    Messages:
    19
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Any particular reason why not use hardware acceleration?
    H/W acceleration should give best results.
     
  4. azzo

    azzo
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    999
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wokingham
    Ratings:
    +9
    The picture is different when not using hardware acceleration, some say it is better. I guess the programmers can tweak the picture somehow. Some people prefer hardware, some hardware.
    I have read on the ATI site that the hardware acceleration is only an issue with windows XP and Power DVD 4.0. I just thought it wierd that this combination is not used more on this forum. After all XP is the best OS for this sort of stuff and the Radeon VE cards are the best as they dont have fans.

    Azzo.
     
  5. Jeff

    Jeff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    5,489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +256
    PowerDVDXP with DXVA (HW enabled) on does produce a much better PQ which is not hard to spot. However you do have to readjust the overlay settings otherwise the brightness is way too high (with Radeons anyway). The other issue is with video based sources, the software decoder (DXVA off) is much better at deinterlacing viideo based material, for most DVDs this isn't a problem.
     
  6. tk

    tk
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2001
    Messages:
    19
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have ATI, WIN XP and PDVD 4.0 XP and it is running just fine with H/W acceleration on.
     
  7. azzo

    azzo
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    999
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wokingham
    Ratings:
    +9
    Typical, ATI support must be wrong.

    Thanx azzo
     
  8. RichardH

    RichardH
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2002
    Messages:
    753
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hertfordshire, UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    ....Buit does it matter if you're running a "powered by ATI" Radeon rather than a genuine ATI one?
     
  9. Jeff

    Jeff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    5,489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +256
    It doesn't matter as long as you have the correct genuine driver.
     
  10. RichardH

    RichardH
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2002
    Messages:
    753
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hertfordshire, UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    I seem to recall having to flash the "powered by" card's bios to enable it to run the genuine driver - or am I going mad?
     
  11. Jeff

    Jeff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    5,489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +256
    The 8500 Rage3d forum has details on how to install proper ATI drivers on powered by cards.
     
  12. azzo

    azzo
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    999
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wokingham
    Ratings:
    +9
  13. Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am getting a better picture without using hardware acceleration, the CPU works just fine. I was getting interlacing artifacts and colour bleed, so I turned it off.
     

Share This Page

Loading...