Any Photoshop CS5 experts here ? Driving me mad

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by maxwell, Jul 31, 2012.

  1. maxwell

    maxwell
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,070
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,280
    Got a problem with transparency and browser compatability

    If I create a new image with transparent background, upto 5 layers and save it for web and devices, it shows as transparent on my desktop but when I put it into a web browser it has a solid white background :mad:.

    I have tried making it as indexed colour at 8 bits and saving as png24, png8, I have done everything I can think of but am obviously missing something as I have successfully achieved the correct result in the past.

    Any ideas ?
     
  2. Dancook

    Dancook
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    15,278
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +6,020
  3. maxwell

    maxwell
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,070
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,280
    Thanks but the image is already transparent just not when it is put in a browser, IE, Chrome or Opera
     
  4. Dancook

    Dancook
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    15,278
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +6,020
    Oh, so on your exported image on the file system the image is transparent?

    are you able to attach the image to a post for us to see? If only to clarify your current predicament
     
  5. liamt

    liamt
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Messages:
    10,250
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,488
    PNG isnt as well supported as GIF. do you really need a PNG? it is the best for alpha channels and the only one that can do a smooth edge (on say a curve). ive never had issues with PNGs for years.
     
  6. liamt

    liamt
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Messages:
    10,250
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,488
    if you copy the file it can sometimes copy the background colour too. i think thats a bug. how are you seeing this? copying from the page or a direct link?
     
  7. maxwell

    maxwell
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,070
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,280
    attatched rar contains the original psd and a png
     

    Attached Files:

  8. maxwell

    maxwell
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,070
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,280
    liam - yes needs to be png and the image is created from scratch, maybe you are right about the copying, strange thing is I have not had this trouble before
     
  9. liamt

    liamt
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Messages:
    10,250
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,488
    ok. i opened it and then saved as png24. embedded on a basic web page in a div with black background, and it worked fine, in chrome and IE9 on win7 64bit

    here is my resaved file.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Dancook

    Dancook
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    15,278
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +6,020
    The png you attached is already fine and transparent,

    I did this

    <body style="background:red">
    <img src="3openvix3release-image.png">
    </body>

    And it worked fine, you sure you're not just viewing it on a white background? if you open the image directly into a browser it will always give a white background
     
  11. liamt

    liamt
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Messages:
    10,250
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,488
    why does it need transparency anyway? is it a floating image over other things or for a forum?
     
  12. Foebane72

    Foebane72
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2006
    Messages:
    3,414
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Ratings:
    +279
    I had a similar issue when creating the transparent PNG for my website logo.

    In the end, I simply started from scratch, by selecting a transparent colour for the background in Paint Shop Pro 5, and then drawing the logo on top of it that way. But PSP 5 is so old I had to use "PNG Optimizer" from a later version to satisfactorily create the PNG logo for the website.

    Does Photoshop allow you to create a new image with a "transparent" colour?
     
  13. Iccz

    Iccz
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Messages:
    24,060
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Keystone City
    Ratings:
    +6,750
    The PNG in your .rar has transparency in all my browsers.
     
  14. maxwell

    maxwell
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,070
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,280
    thanks guys, the website its going onto has a blue/grey background, I now suspect it is to do with the way the website handles images.
     
  15. liamt

    liamt
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Messages:
    10,250
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,488
    i think you mean the overlapping colour over aliases pixels? if so its the matte colour in photoshop web export but that is gif and png8 (which is basically a gif anyway) in png24 you dont need it as you have the required alpha channels
     
  16. maxwell

    maxwell
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,070
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,280
    its for a forum
     
  17. liamt

    liamt
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Messages:
    10,250
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,488
    you can try gif and use the matte colour the same as the predominant background. its how we used to do it before PNG24s were widely accepted.
     
  18. maxwell

    maxwell
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,070
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,280
    just an update, apparently it has to be uploaded to the site as an album, it then shows as a transparency when used in a thread, must be something to do with VB4.2 as the site was recently upgraded and i didnt have this problem before.
     

Share This Page

Loading...