Any Nikon D5000 Users?

icemanonline

Distinguished Member
Hi All,

Been asked by a colleague to give some kinda feedback on the Nikon D5000.

Using the net, and not having used the Nikon D5000 myself, I have printed some words and saved some video on that model. Even have info on the re-call earlier in 2009 when it 1st came out (And hope Nikon have fixed that now) and the general feedback from lots of Other sites and Youtube.

Now as a long standing member of AVF the final thing I need is some hands on general feedback from actual users of the Nikon D5000 from here. So if you are happy or unhappy with the camera can you please give a brief honest opinion on your camera for me? Thanks in advance. The person buying this has a very limited knowledge of photography and Nikon, and I recommended this model....... hope that helps.

icemanonline

Dony

Distinguished Member
I got my D5000 at Christmas, and as a complete novice I have found it very easy to use and understand. Having come from an oldish 3.2mp digital camera, I'm obviously pleased with the results the Nikon has given me to date.

I'm still coming to terms with using software to get the best out of my pics, but this will come with practice.

Only slight concern, and I'd appreciate if anyone more experienced can help me, is the shutter speed.
I was with a friend on Sunday who owns a D60 and knows more about dslr's in general than I do. He thought that the shutter speed on my camera was quite slow, despite the pictures he was taking turning out very well (action shots). Because the results were good, he thought it may have been something to do with the mirror :confused:

Sorry I can't be more help except to say that I've no regrets. :thumbsup:

derek1971

I also am new to dslr and got a D5000 for Xmas. I am really pleased with it. I was previously using a Sony point and shoot so the difference is night and day.