1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Any multi-region issues with Radeon cards?

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by VirusKiller, May 6, 2003.

  1. VirusKiller

    VirusKiller
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,804
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Hogsty End
    Ratings:
    +70
    Are there any multi-regions issues using Radeon cards for DVD playback? If so how are they gotten around?

    Thanks,
    Joel
     
  2. Gary Lightfoot

    Gary Lightfoot
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    12,471
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Surrey. UK.
    Ratings:
    +2,117
    The multi-region issues will be with the operating system (Windows), the software player (WinDVD for instance) and the DVD drive, which'll need a firmware upgrade if it's hackable.

    Use something like DVDGenie or Region Killer for the software issues, and go here:

    http://firmware.inmatrix.com/

    HTH

    Gary.
     
  3. VirusKiller

    VirusKiller
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,804
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Hogsty End
    Ratings:
    +70
    Thanks Gary.

    I guess I was assuming that Radeon cards come with their own DVD playing software (I currently use WinDVD through a DVDGenie frontend).

    So is WinDVD able to offload most/all of the processing to whichever graphics card is in the system?

    Cheers,
    Joel
     
  4. Gary Lightfoot

    Gary Lightfoot
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    12,471
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Surrey. UK.
    Ratings:
    +2,117
    Not all graphics cards can do hardware acceleration, but teh Radeons do.

    You can select hardware or software mode with WinDVD, so if you choose hardware, the Radeon will take some some processing from the cpu.

    The ATI DVD player has a good quality picture, but often causes problems with DD/DTS output when installed, so be aware of that.

    If you're using earlier versions of WinDVD, changing to hardware mode will mean the two colour adjustments become colour and gamma instead, which I find more useful.

    Also, if you get a green flickering line at the bottom of the image, then force WinDVD into weave mode to remove it. Change it back to auto for non film stuff otherwise you'll get combing.

    HTH

    Gary.
     
  5. VirusKiller

    VirusKiller
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,804
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Hogsty End
    Ratings:
    +70
    Thanks Gary. My WinDVD version is 3.0, so I guess I'll stay with that for the mo and get myself a new graphics card soon.

    Cheers,
    Joel
     

Share This Page

Loading...