Any Exchange v5.5 experts here?

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by mjn, Jun 17, 2009.

  1. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    23,932
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +12,496
    How the hell do you forward outbound e-mail traffic to another e-mail server?
     
  2. eric pisch

    eric pisch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    7,501
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +754
  3. Codehead

    Codehead
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Messages:
    5,928
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Hanging around the goal in Rocket League
    Ratings:
    +1,158
    We've still got Exchange 5.5 :rolleyes:

    My old MS exchange books are in cold storage in the loft, but I think you can set up an Internet Mail Service connector under Connections in Exch Admin. Once you're there, under the connections tab on the IMS/IMC there's an option to forward inbound/outbound/all messages to a specified host.

    HTH
     
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2009
  4. The Dude

    The Dude
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    6,735
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Beverley, East Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +3,199
    ^^ What he said ^^
     
  5. Codehead

    Codehead
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Messages:
    5,928
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Hanging around the goal in Rocket League
    Ratings:
    +1,158
    I should add that our IMC falls over regularly. No warning, and the internal stuff still flies around happily, you just get a huge pile of messages in the outbound queue. 5.5 really doesn't cut it thesedays. :(

    We only have to put up with it for a few more months, then we get an upgrade to.........


    Exchange 2000. :(
     
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2009
  6. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    23,932
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +12,496
    Yep, i figured it out shortly after posting. Why the application can't be configured to use our new Exchange 2007 environment i'll never know. IT has to be Win2k and Exchange 5.5 :rolleyes:

    Anyway, some mail is flowing, some not. However, i think a bit of user error might be the problem.
     
  7. gamingboy

    gamingboy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    1,681
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +240
    Place where I am supporting at the moment doesn't have exchnage. Everyone uses hotmail/yahoo etc.

    And no budget plans for Exchange. :thumbsdow
     
  8. Garf

    Garf
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,318
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +524
    Just out of curiosity, how come you're not upgrading to a slightly newer version ?

    We skipped 2000, and went from 5.5 to 2003 - looks like we're going to do the same with 2007 - skip that and go for 2010. Still 'debating' that one though..
     
  9. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    23,932
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +12,496
    All fixed. Nothing wrong with my exchange config.....i was given the wrong mail relay. :rolleyes:
     
  10. Codehead

    Codehead
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Messages:
    5,928
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Hanging around the goal in Rocket League
    Ratings:
    +1,158
    Military system, security, accreditation, etc, etc, :rolleyes:

    Fact is 2003/XP SP2 was more secure out of the box than our 'hardened' NT4/Win2K builds, but they'd spent the money and time poking and prodding the software, so we have to use it.
     
  11. Nobber22

    Nobber22
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,982
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +111
    Go on! Sign up for DII/F - you know you want to! :smashin:
     
  12. Codehead

    Codehead
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Messages:
    5,928
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Hanging around the goal in Rocket League
    Ratings:
    +1,158
    Nooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!

    :rotfl: When I started this job in 2003 DII was '18 months away'. Six years later, it's way over budget and still not anywhere near us. We're going to ASH instead.
     
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2009
  13. Nobber22

    Nobber22
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,982
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +111
    ASH eh?

    Ummm......I don't know if anyone has told you, but ASH is also down to go over to DII/F - probably around the beginning of 2011. :hiya:

    The Rhythm Is Gonna Get Ya - uh huh! :suicide:
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice