Any DVD player with the cd Qlty of Arcam FMJ cd23 ??

JSW

Prominent Member
Reaction score
As can get an FMJ23 for £789

or a CD92 for £499

?????

Originally posted by JSW
As can get an FMJ23 for £789 or a CD92 for £499 ?

FMJ-CD23 @ £1099 or DiVA CD92 @ £849, less 10% maybe normally, so fantastic prices.
Arcam CD23 is the best CD player I have heard, with CD92 very good too.
Of current players, I have tried Denon 3800 and the two Arcam DVD players, for CDs in my opinion the two Arcam CD players are noticeably better.

Thanks,

Now how much better is the FMJ CD23 over the CD92 ?

Bry

I'm not very good at describing differences :blush:
I like all music from heavy classical through to punk, but mainly I like seventies AOR, Eagles, Linda Ronstadt, Steely Dan / seventies progressive or metal, blah,blah,blah.

I have a separate Linn, Naim, Epos system for 2-channel, before I settled on a Naim CD player ( mainly for aesthetics / matching ) I tried the two Arcams, having had previous Arcam CD players / DACs.

The FMJ had more " air " around individual instruments with great detail, separation and imaging, with tracks that thrash, say The Damned first album or albums by Dead Kennedys, Angelic Upstarts, The Business, The Clash, Joy Division, Iggy Pop, Cocksparrer, and so on the FMJ was clear, precise and energetic but not harsh.
What Hi-Fi use a term " unyielding " , probably doesn't mean too much as What Hi-Fi is a comic, but the ace for the FMJ is that it is not unyielding.

I'll have to let the experts describe the difference between FMJ and CD92.

Thanks again,

Just throw another in the mix as its been getting pretty damn good reviews Rotel RCD-02 ??

The Meridian 596 is a very impressive CD player, but it's pricey. New it'll set you back about £2500. Arcam's own FMJ DV27 is pretty good - possibly on a par with the CD92, but not up to the standard of the FMJ CD23.

Originally posted by NicolasB