1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Any decent plasmas for under £1000?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by Tyler Durden, May 2, 2005.

  1. Tyler Durden

    Tyler Durden
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Messages:
    5,097
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Shrewsbury, UK
    Ratings:
    +266
    Any one have any suggestions, other than keep saving?

    Looking for something to replace my 36" Panasonic CRT.

    Thanks
     
  2. ukdan

    ukdan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,124
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    swindon
    Ratings:
    +84
    Theres a good pwd4 in the classifieds.
     
  3. Tyler Durden

    Tyler Durden
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Messages:
    5,097
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Shrewsbury, UK
    Ratings:
    +266
    what's a PWD4?
     
  4. Piers

    Piers
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,973
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +227
    Panasonic 42" standard definition screen, commercial rather than consumer version (which brings benefits in terms of additional features) and yes it is me that is selling it!
     
  5. Daddy k

    Daddy k
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    9,044
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    coventry
    Ratings:
    +1,345
    brand new from a shop/person from whom ul get a receipt

    NO!

    second hand, dodgy/nicked

    maybe

    brand new and a good performer?

    no
     
  6. Piers

    Piers
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,973
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +227
    Agreed with your answers 1 and 3 but not too happy about number 2. Having been pointed to one on the classifieds I replied giving the guy more details. It is very definately NOT nicked and given that I do ISF calibration for a living do you honestly think I would risk selling a "dodgy" plasma?
     
  7. ukdan

    ukdan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,124
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    swindon
    Ratings:
    +84
    I was interested in that pwd4 myself just to tied me over till the phd8 comes out but the misses has stepped in the way :mad: :mad:
     
  8. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    A panny 4/5 or even 6 from a good home is going to perform much better the £999 offerings online or the highstreet but arent you banned from trading tyler?
     
  9. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,579
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +474
    well said Piers, also thought comment was a bit rude as it came after your post. Tyler if you are not banned from trading look in the classifieds and you'll see what a pwd4 is.
     
  10. Daddy k

    Daddy k
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    9,044
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    coventry
    Ratings:
    +1,345
    well as number 2 stated
    second hand, dodgy/nicked
    maybe

    that was said as in 1 or the other
    ie second hand, maybe u will get a goodun under £1000
    dodgy/nickedmaybe ul get a goodun

    chill ladies put ur scart leads down! no whipping needed here ;).
    maybe it was my fault for not seperating the sentence correctly but as im on here using a nokia 9500 and the very small keyboard yping is a chore for me, so sorry to people who misread or perhaps i mistyped due to lazyness
     
  11. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,579
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +474
    Kris sorry, must have had one too many merlot :)
     
  12. Daddy k

    Daddy k
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    9,044
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    coventry
    Ratings:
    +1,345

    no probs just re read my last post bloody hell i do miss some of those lil keys dont i lol :rotfl:

    besides id of thought a panel of piers would be a great buy, ie already callibrated ;) just see if u can buy the rest of his equipment :devil:
     
  13. Tyler Durden

    Tyler Durden
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Messages:
    5,097
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Shrewsbury, UK
    Ratings:
    +266
    Yes, I am banned from trading at the moment, (still learning the very strict rules!!) but, if I did buy that screen from Piers or one like it, would I need anything else to use it with a sky digibox, dvd player and Pinnacle Showcentre?

    I'm getting a Yamaha RX-V1500 I can put video signals through if that helps!?
     
  14. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    you'll have to let me have a bit more info but! but SKY via JS RGB>YUV to AMP DVD via YUV (if possible) to amp AMP to plamsa YUV, pinnacle via YUV for best PQ too, (could use JS RGB>VGA for Sky) How many component inputs on the Yam 1500 hopefully 3 and route Pinnacle and DVD via amp, need more info tho. What DVD, What connections does it have, Sky or Sky+
     
  15. Tyler Durden

    Tyler Durden
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Messages:
    5,097
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Shrewsbury, UK
    Ratings:
    +266
    [​IMG]

    Here is the rear panel of the RXV1500

    [​IMG]

    And here is the back panel of my Panasonic DVD RV32

    The Showcentre has the following connections:

    1 x SCART (RGB) ( 21 PIN SCART ) - rear
    1 x component video output ( RCA phono x 3 ) - rear
    1 x composite video output ( RCA phono ) - rear
    1 x S-Video output ( 4 PIN mini-DIN ) - rear
    2 x audio line-out ( RCA phono x 2 ) - rear
    1 x SPDIF output ( RCA phono ) - rear
    1 x SPDIF output ( TOS Link ) - rear
    1 x network ( RJ-45 ) - rear

    Thanks for your help.
     
  16. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    hmm only 2 component inputs........
    DVD>AMP (component)
    Showcentre>AMP(component)
    AMP>PLASMA (component)
    SKY>JS RGB>VGA converter to VGA input on plasma.....(audio to amp) the PWD4 in classifieds has all you need, just add a JS RGB>VGA box........
     

Share This Page

Loading...