1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Any Cinema Amps with DAB yet ?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Nick_UK, Dec 5, 2004.

  1. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    Cinema amps with RDS have been around for many years, but I've not come across any with DAB reception. Do such amps exist ?
     
  2. recruit

    recruit
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sony were supposed to be bringing that feature out in the STR-DB 795 but it never materialised i have not seen any others with it yet but i am sure it is only a matter of time!

    John
     
  3. patr1ck

    patr1ck
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Messages:
    247
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +26
    Just an observation but the data rates on radio on Sky are greater than or equal to those on DAB. In fact some of those on DAB are not particularly good!

    Pat
     
  4. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    have cambridge audio done one? not yet.... i guess they will come eventually i am sure i have seen one.. Yamaha perhaps.....
     
  5. Mr Incredible

    Mr Incredible
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    Messages:
    22,974
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Fylde Coast
    Ratings:
    +11,925
    My £0.02......
    It's ironic that the basic design of the AV Amp is based upon the processing of digital signals to analogue, and yet the introduction of the DAB digital platform has failed to materialise at this time. It seems to me that the introduction of a digital tuner to utilise the already excellent DAC processors would be both a better and cheaper option that having an analogue tuner.
     
  6. recruit

    recruit
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think the problem as well with the introduction of DAB is that the coverage is not too good or should i say unpredictable IMO, as i had a dedicated unit but it kept on dropping out which was a pain!
    When the signal was there the quality was superb but not reliable enough :( the only option i had was to mount an external arial which i was not willing to do.
    If you live in an area which has good coverage you should be ok though..

    John
     
  7. Jules

    Jules
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2000
    Messages:
    5,095
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +768
    I've got a decent Sony DAB/FM tuner (ST-D777ES).

    DAB is awful and your best off sticking with FM.
    The data rate used is very low and it shows.

    I sometimes flick between the same station broadcast on both platforms, and I cannot recall ever preferring the DAB broadcast over FM.
    Not even the excellent DACs in my Denon K-AVCA1SE make up for it.

    IMO, you should forget DAB and get a good FM aerial.
     
  8. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    I agree, it does seem rather odd. My DAB reception used to be OK, until the Peterborough mast burned down :thumbsdow
     
  9. Tenex

    Tenex
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2003
    Messages:
    7,631
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,066
    As has been mentioned satellite and Freeview data rates on DAB are higher so a feed from a Freeview box to an amp would be the best way to go, indeed I bought my Netgem for the optical out to feed DAB to the amp........ so why haven't I got a round tuit ;)


    Probably 'cos I'm not in the room long enough to listen to anything.... One day!
     

Share This Page

Loading...