Any c# ASP.NET developers ?

funkyspider

Prominent Member
Reaction score
I'm a developer who wants to put together a little proof of concept app in ASP.NET (C# in visual studio 2008).

Basically all I want to do is :

Page 1 : Display a datagrid populated with order header summary info loaded into an object via webservice call (which performs an order enquiry on all orders for dispatch today). The Class is created, webservice call working fine, data is returned and the object is populated - just don't know how to bind the object to datagrid. From this page user can select an item from the list or enter a reference number into a textbox control to select an order which is not displayed in the list. Once selected continue to page 2.

Page 2 : Load full order details using order number selected from page 1. Call webservice to retrieve data and populate full order object (header and lines). Classes are created, webservice call working fine and object populated from XML results (LINQ to XML is quite good at first glance).

That's it. I've written the webservice as part of a development I'm working on and just want a simple ASP.NET front end to demo as a proof of concept for another application I think the data provided by the webservice could be useful for.

Any pointers to online tutorials etc greatly appreciated. I've never strayed into ASP.NET and don't even know how to do basics like accept input from one page and use it to load data for next page etc. I've found tutorials where data is loaded into a dataset based on selection from a list which is bound to a grid on the same page, but that doesn't suite what I'm doing. To fancy the page up we have DevExpress ASP.NET controls, but I just want to get it up and running with simple native controls first.

Cheers
Martin.

One of the biggest helps there is I found was the help file (help.chm I think it is?)