Any advice please on setting up a website

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by lpoolm, Feb 21, 2014.

1. lpoolm

lpoolm

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +100
    So I have thought of an idea for a website that I can not find anything similar so i want to set it up myself... It will be community based, no subscription more for information and would ideally like a forum but this can be a lot further down the line!

However, I have never built a website before, I have watched plenty of vids/read forums and there is loads of info out there but thats the problem, so much choice.

I do not want to go down one route than realise its too hard or too restrictive and have to start again so any advice of someone doing something similar would be great.

I have no experience of programing so will be looking at the easier options like Wordpress which seems to be more user friendly than other ways but already having problems for example putting pages within pages!

I understand the whole domain name, site hosts etc it is just the actual website. I have it pictured in my head but getting it onto a computer is the next problem:D

Any/all advice would be great!:thumbsup:

2. Penski

Penski

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +73
    It really depends on what you want to create - is it a very simple static site? Will there be custom data stored, or special features like searches etc? My personal opinion is that you will really struggle if you do not have some knowledge of HTML / CSS, and a web coding language such as PHP with MySQL.

I've never explored Wordpress or the likes, so can't comment on that.

3. lpoolm

lpoolm

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +100
    Thanks for quick reply, the site will contain information (useful I hope) but it will heavily depend on users adding to it to build the data base.
    My plans with this were details would be emailed to me so I can add to posts within each section.