Any 32" TFT with 1920 x 1080 pixels & full progressive?

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs Forum' started by JohnKen, Mar 15, 2006.

Tags:
  1. JohnKen

JohnKen

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +13
    I've been ploughing though the sites looking for a 32" LCD with 1920 x 1080 pixel screen to give true HD progressive for future proofing. Can't find any in UK market - and although several well known brands have, or are, bringing out new models with this - they usually only start at 42" or 45".

Most 32" are now 1366 x768 - which with 6% overscan (?) equates to 1280 x 720, but need complicated processing to give fair SDTV (625 line = 540 visible) and 720p or 1080i HDTV. (The 1920 x 1080 makes nice multiples for line and pixel scanning from SDTV, i.e 1080 / 2 = 540 or 720 / 3 x 2 = 480 - thus making for less fancy processing.)

I've looked at some of the sites describing viewing distance and eye resolution e.g: http://www.crutchfieldadvisor.com/ISEO-rgbtcspd/learningcenter/home/tv_faq.html - and they seem to suggest about 10ft for 32" SDTV & 6 ft for 32" HDTV - with little differentiation between 720p and 1080i - though some comment 1080p will be viewable even closer.

So my techy and practical question! Is there any point in waiting for 1920 * 1080 for 32" models [I view from around 10'] and feel the lounge would be overpowered by anything bigger. Will manufacturers bring any 32" (1920 x 1080i or p models) out in the UK - and at my viewing distance will the human eye see the difference anyway!?

So should I wait or just go ahead and buy the best 1366 x 768p model [i.e Panny 600?] now, or hang on till full 1920 x 1080 comes down to 32" panels with p for HD DVD or Blue Ray?:lease:

2. bobsie

bobsie

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, yes I am interested in this as well. Laptops seem to have no problem with higher resolution - why can't we have 1080P in 81 cm tv's?

:clap:

3. Lin3ar

Lin3ar
    Distinguished Member