Another which Harmony remote do I need thread

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Control & Remote Controls' started by Marshall Mike, Apr 25, 2016.

Tags:
  1. Marshall Mike

    Marshall Mike
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,325
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Prestwick, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +892
    So I have a Sony PJ, Anthem receiver, Sky+HD and a Xbox One.

    None of the gear is hidden away. The Xbox is used as a Blu-Ray/Media player and has Kinnect hooked up to it. I would like to be able to fully control the Xbox with the remote, including Netflix and Amazon Prime if possible.

    Suggestions please? Thanks!
     
  2. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    52,973
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,718
    Any Harmony!
     
  3. Marshall Mike

    Marshall Mike
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,325
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Prestwick, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +892
    Ok that's good to hear, thanks. But why are there so many to choose from? What are the differences? I'm thinking maybe the ultimate one as the elite would be overkill?
     
  4. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    52,973
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,718
    There are about half a dozen current models, of which the 350, 650, and Touch would meet your needs.
    The Ultimate One is unnecessarily expensive and the other two can control devices without line of sight.
     
    Last edited: Apr 25, 2016
  5. Marshall Mike

    Marshall Mike
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,325
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Prestwick, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +892
    Ok thank you, the touch and ultimate one only have a £5 price difference on Amazon so think I will go with the ultimate.
     
  6. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    52,973
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,718
    I was going by the prices on Logitech's own web site.
    A couple of things to bear in mind are that the Touch and Ultimate One have direction controls in a crazy position and don't have number keys, which are both corrected in the 650.
     
  7. Marshall Mike

    Marshall Mike
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,325
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Prestwick, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +892
    Ah you mean the D pad is at the bottom and hard to use? I'm not sure if we would miss the number buttons, we tend to choose channels from the sky guide.

    Apart from the touch screen, are there any other differences between the ultimate and 650?
     
  8. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    52,973
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,718
    The record/play commands are at the top of the Touch and Ultimate One, above the screen.
    On the 650 they're in the more usual position of below it.
    The T and UO are very different in style from the 650.
    In usage the former do offer more than the latter.
     
  9. Marshall Mike

    Marshall Mike
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,325
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Prestwick, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +892
    Ok thanks for all of your advice @logiciel, I have placed an order for the Ultimate :)
     
  10. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    52,973
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,718
    You're very welcome. It's the Ultimate One that you've ordered?
     
  11. Marshall Mike

    Marshall Mike
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,325
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Prestwick, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +892
    I just realised there's a difference isn't there? The Ultimate One is the stand alone remote and the Ultimate is the remote and Hub?

    So if yes, the Ultimate One is what I have ordered.
     
  12. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    52,973
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,718
    That's fine. You'll like it.
     
  13. Marshall Mike

    Marshall Mike
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,325
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Prestwick, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +892
    Yeah I'm looking forward to going to one remote, just hope my wife gets on ok with it :confused:
     
  14. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    52,973
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,718
    :thumbsup:
     
  15. Marshall Mike

    Marshall Mike
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,325
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Prestwick, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +892
    The remote arrived yesterday and I set it up last night. I have to say I'm impressed so far :thumbsup:

    From the testing I done last night though, when switching everything on at once (PJ, receiver, sky) with an activity if my receiver is on a different input it doesn't seem to change to the correct one. The help feature rectifies this and there's no problem switching between activities when the receiver is already on. I looked at setting a delay, but you cant place the delay in the sequence so the amp switches on and then changes to the correct input after a few seconds? The delay could only be placed at the end?
     
  16. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    52,973
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,718
    As Help fixes the problem it should be easy to make that permanent.
    Doesn't it have an indication of how to do that?
     
  17. Marshall Mike

    Marshall Mike
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,325
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Prestwick, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +892
    Not that I know of? It just asks if it worked, I hit yes and it returns to the activity as normal.
     
  18. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    52,973
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,718
    I don't have an UO but Delays should fix it.
    Try various values of each one and if necessary ask Logitech Support.
     
  19. Marshall Mike

    Marshall Mike
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,325
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Prestwick, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +892
    Found the delays in the remote menu itself, I had been trying to add them on the PC so all sorted now :thumbsup:
     
  20. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    52,973
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,718
    Excellent - well done.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice