Another very satisfied Samsung owner

Discussion in 'General TV Discussions Forum' started by aftertaste, Mar 17, 2005.

  1. aftertaste

    aftertaste
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,177
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +89
    I've been impatiently reading all the threads on this forum over the past few weeks while I was searching for someone who had the Samsung 50" in stock. A lot of what I read here convinved me I was doing the right thing.

    It was delivered this morning, and within 20 minutes of ripping open the box there was a flawless picture beaming out of the TV.

    I really am impressed.

    I was worried about the quality of pictures from Sky digital on such a large screen, but after 5 hours of viewing I don't have a single complaint.

    A lot of what was said on this forum reassured me this was the right TV to buy. I feel it's only fair that I come and say how happy I am with the purchase, and I hope anyone considering the Samsung will see this and go ahead and get it.
     
  2. mistycat

    mistycat
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    cheers. I could not be happier. It really grows on you.
    Each day the pq appears to startle you with something different. I love it and I am naturally a synic by nature and spent months deciding what to buy, which lead me to the forum of truth and light!
     
  3. DLPhopefull

    DLPhopefull
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    87
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Barnes London
    Ratings:
    +1
    Roll on sky HD, could not be happier with this set.

    Everyone that comes to see it seem to go away wanting to upgrade their TV.

    :smashin:
     
  4. DLPGirl

    DLPGirl
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yohoooo i am delighted sammy owner to got mine today as well. Although feeding it standard indoor aerial only cos waiting for the sky cabling as this TV goes in a different room. But still the quality is stunning even on analouge.

    Why do i get black bars on top and bottom on most channels other than football? If i zoom i lose picture what is the reason for this? :confused: :confused:
     
  5. aftertaste

    aftertaste
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,177
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +89
    I'm not sure how it works with an aerial. With a scart connection it auto-detects and adjusts the ratio for you. There might be something via the service menu that will allow you to sort out the problem until you connect it to a Sky box.

    I haven't gone into the service menu yet, but I read on other forums that a few people solved their ratio problems by playing with some of the options.
     
  6. St_ve

    St_ve
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    1,059
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +0
    You should see the whole screen filled with analougue TV. on the RD50 it's under format select full screen
    happy viewing
     
  7. DLPhopefull

    DLPhopefull
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    87
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Barnes London
    Ratings:
    +1
    Press the P.size button to scroll through the basic screen options.

    Top of remote.
     
  8. DLPGirl

    DLPGirl
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have it on Autowide and i still get the bars unless i go to zoom which just cuts of the picture and distorts the quality :confused: Some channels like channel 5 today with the football took up the whole screen when on autowide. But all other leave small bars at the top and bottom. :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

    What screen size getting do u keep yours on?
    Also do i need to turn on all that fancy DNI and stuff.?
     
  9. DLPhopefull

    DLPhopefull
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    87
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Barnes London
    Ratings:
    +1

    I leave mine set to 16.9 all the time.

    I must admit I do get the bars top and bottom but not that often on SKY+. mainly on adverts. I do not use the UHF tuners much. I am presuming you mean about an inch or so top and bottom when it happens.


    I found DNie very good, I would leave it on all the time. The mag reports gave it the thumbs up too. Digital NR is for poor signals I would have it on for standard TV viewing, but when you have sky with a good signal or DVD playback best not to have it on.
     
  10. yoskiwoski

    yoskiwoski
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Messages:
    366
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +25
    ??????????
     
  11. DLPhopefull

    DLPhopefull
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    87
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Barnes London
    Ratings:
    +1
    We have the SP50L7HX
     
  12. DLPGirl

    DLPGirl
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    :lease: I have been watching saving private ryan upscaled to 1080i on a panasonic L7 feeding to a samsung and in short its stunning !!!!!!

    I wanna connect my laptop does anyone know who does the best cables for DVI-HDMI i not interested in paying silly money. But somethingh that is a good price and people can recommend :lease: :lease:
     

Share This Page

Loading...