Another TV-Link problem :(

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by rkmol, Aug 19, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rkmol

    rkmol
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all,
    I have recently moved house and I am trying to distribute our SKY+ to the kitchen...I have managed to get the signal to pass to the other rooms, but not the 9V to power up the TV-Link. I have checked the faceplates - I don't think there are decoupling capacitors (from what I can see)...so I am at a loss. (The RF2 output is turned on, and the TV-Link does work (if plugged straight into the RF2 output socket on the Sky box).

    Here is the set up....
    Sky connect to a wall plate:
    [​IMG]

    This goes to the loft via Coax cable to this splitter
    [​IMG]
    (I have a distributer also - link - but just using the splitter at the moment

    And then this goes back to the kitchen to a second faceplate:
    [​IMG]

    Does anyone have any idea where the problem may lie? Should I try a faceplate (before the splitter) in the loft and plugging it in to see if it is even getting there?

    Hope someone can help - and thank you in advance! :)
     
  2. Stevenage Neil

    Stevenage Neil
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,826
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +897
    Picture 2 tells the story!

    The DC, (Power Link), connection is not going anywhere - swap the cable over from output 1 to
    Output 2.
     
  3. rkmol

    rkmol
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you! Poor attachment error there!

    Unfortunately it still does not work :( I am tempted to see if it lights up in the loft? Before going through the splitter? That would test that section wouldn't it (sky box to the loft)?

    :)
     
  4. Stevenage Neil

    Stevenage Neil
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,826
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +897
    It would, but you have a connector issue........
     
  5. rkmol

    rkmol
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    What do you mean? Sorry! It didn't work with the distribution box either (lab gear) :(
     
  6. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,104
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,759
    Which is it - kitchen, or other rooms?
     
  7. rkmol

    rkmol
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry - it's the kitchen for now. But there are loft wires going to the other rooms too. Before hand they were all in the distributor box, so the signal (but not the power for the TV-Link) went to both the bedroom and the kitchen. I am just using the splitter at the moment to the kitchen, just to try and get the power through as I didn't think the splitter would block the 9V. Does that make sense?
     
  8. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,104
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,759
    Yes!
    I'd give up on it and get a wireless Extender instead.
     
  9. rkmol

    rkmol
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    But my husband has forbidden me from spending anymore money on this!!!
     
  10. rkmol

    rkmol
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just wish I knew why it won't pass the power through! Driving me mad!
     
  11. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,104
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,759
    OK then - you have to check the connections and find out where the fault arises.
    Do it a stage at a time.
     
  12. rayferry

    rayferry
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    583
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Ratings:
    +133
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2013
  13. rkmol

    rkmol
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hmm can't seem to access that link :(

    Been up in the loft with a faceplate, wired the coax cable coming in from the living room faceplate (where sky is plugged into via RF2) and then plugged normal AV cable into it and into the TV-link, NO ILLUMINATION! so....I guess it's a faceplate problem? Is there a way to test this without going up to the loft everytime?! I tried a new faceplate - but still no power in kitchen! The system clearly hates me!!

    But it doesn't look like the faceplate is blocking it? Grrrr
     
  14. rayferry

    rayferry
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    583
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Ratings:
    +133
    Forget the face plate put a coax plug on the end of your cable and test the Magic Eye just on the cable.
     
  15. winston2010

    winston2010
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,890
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +187
    You've got grotty unscreened faceplates and poorly fitted F connectors. Wonder what other horrors there are! I would suggest getting a cheap multimeter. With that you can check for 9 volts on the cables and check the continuity of the faceplates.

    You've got grotty unscreened faceplates and poorly fitted F connectors. Wonder what other horrors are there? I suggest getting a cheap multimeter so you can check for 9volts on the cables and the continuity of the faceplates.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 19, 2013
  16. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,104
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,759
    I still say scrap the idea and get a wireless Extender - it won't cost any more!.
     
  17. rkmol

    rkmol
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok, will try putting coax ends on the cables, they have the screw end things - I'm sorry, i don't the official names. (f type?!) wait ill look them up...ok, so I have coax going from end of wire into wall plate? And f type in loft from wire into splitter? Think that's right...I'll have a go...B and Q do multimeters for a fiver so ill try that after!
     
  18. rkmol

    rkmol
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can you control sky with a wireless AV sender?! I can get signal, just no power/control...
     
  19. logiciel

    logiciel
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    53,104
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5,759
    This system does not normally use screw-in f-plugs; it uses push-in co-ax connectors.
    Yes, wireless senders send the signal one way and the remote control back the other - and they have the advantage of better sound.
     
  20. neilball

    neilball
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    2,911
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Scottish Borders
    Ratings:
    +641
    It looks like there is a Labgear TV Distribution Amplifer right next to the splitter, so is this Sky compatible? If so why not connect the RF2 output from the Sky box to the Amplifer input, then connect your TV feeds to the amplifier outputs, after all this is what it is designed for!

    If you get a few connectors you can also test each run by simply joining the RF2 feed from the Sky box to each TV feed cable in turn I.e. temporarily connect the RF2 and TV feed in the loft then try your Magic Eye at each TV.

    If your TV amplifier is the same as those I've seen recently then it usually has a power supply that feeds it and also provides 9v power for magic eyes too. Can you look up the make/model of amplifier on the net to check its features?
     
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2013
  21. rkmol

    rkmol
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh cr*p I have made this even worse!!!

    I had tried putting in a diff faceplate-now I don't get power and hardly any signal! The wiring is messy, yes, is this why the signal has just shot down?


    [​IMG]

    I don't think i would make a good electrician!
     
  22. rkmol

    rkmol
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    IT WORKS!!!

    It was the faceplate (isolator)...and some poor poor cable end attachments

    YAY!!!!

    Thank you for all you help guys :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice