1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ANOTHER newbie after opinions on HCPC build

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Quantum, Jan 9, 2004.

1. Quantum

Quantum
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    I want to build a pc for DVD playback, Scaling Svideo input with descaler and powerstrip to a Panasonic AE100e, webbrowsing and playing some games( which I am willing to play at lower res if needed) on a second CRT monitor. I have never built a pc before, but want to try and would really like some of the wisdom around this place! I apologise for the dire layout of this message in advance!

I already have an xcard purchased in the last month from the classified section of this forum. I am going to start off with the DVD-rom drive I already have (region free).

For processor I am considering AMD Athlon XP 2800+ 512Kb SoA. Dabs have Box for £124.00 or £92.00 (for no box?!?). Is this a good processor to choose and what is the deal with the box?

For Mobo I am considering A7N8X Deluxe SKT A NForce2 Chipset Motherboard VER: 2.0 £84.36 inc from www.ebuyer.com as it has 5.1 built in as well as LAN. According to Zalman it is hopefully compatible with their Super Flower Cooler (see below).

For graphics Sapphire Radeon 9600 (non pro). Is there a good reason not to go for the 256mb model as its only £8 more. If I go for 128 how much will it affect games?

Seagate ST3120023A 120gb 7200rpm - OEM ebuyer £75.19 as I read in a link form this forum that it has one of the lowest noise levels. Is there a good reason not to go for oem ?

For memory Crucial do
    256MB £24.99 £29.36 CT3264Z40B DDR PC3200 o CL=3 o Non-parity o 5ns o 2.6V o 32Meg x 64
    512MB £48.99 £57.56 CT6464Z40B DDR PC3200 o CL=3 o Unbuffered o Non-parity o 5ns o 2.6V o 64Meg x 64
    Should I get 256x2, 512x2 or 512x1 now and 1 later when the price has dropped?