1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Another new Panasonic 5 series owner with a question

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by kidtonio, Jan 5, 2003.

  1. kidtonio

    kidtonio
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I got the TH42PWD5 two days ago based on the info I gained from reading this forum for the past few months. I managed to hook it up to the DVD player through component and am very happy with the picture. However, I bought a SCART to S-video for my Sky+ box (panasonic) and the picture is only in B&W (same when through the video player, but my import games console works fine through its s-video lead). Is it something to do with 50/60hz? What can I do?

    Also, I bought an Ixus silver component lead (3m) for £50 from Systems and wondered if this was a good match or if I need a more expensive one and if there is a better deal on this one - I can take it back.

    The final question is whether it should be a priority to upgrade my DVD player to a progressive one - I have a Sony 725 at the moment.
     
  2. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,131
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,393
    On an S-Vedeo lead the colour and picture signal are sent on different pins. VCR's are not S-Video compatible unless they are SVHS. I do not know if $ky+ is S-Video compatible, but if it is it will need to be set to output in S-Video. The games consol is obviously S-Video.

    There is always a big debate on this forum as to weather an expensive cable makes any difference. As long as the cable is a component (75 Ohm) video cable and not a (50 Ohm) audio cable you should get a very good picture. If you do want to spend more money on a cable then borrow one first to see if you can spot any difference. The chances are that you wont!

    I will answer that question with a question.

    Are you satisfied/happy with the picture you have from your current DVD?
    If not then upgrade as soon as you can.
    If you are, then why bother?

    Mark.
     
  3. mark raeburn

    mark raeburn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2002
    Messages:
    413
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +19
    I believe this is because you have not changed the mode on your Sky+ box to RGB, the display should then be in colour.
     
  4. JamesTapp

    JamesTapp
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2002
    Messages:
    235
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    Actually I think you may have the wrong lead connecting the STB to the Plasma, although I don't own Sky+ so please forgive me if I'm wrong, but isn't the S-video output a separate connector to the SCART?

    You may need the S-video to S-video lead, not the Scart to S-video.

    Kind Regards,

    James
     
  5. MarkTaylor

    MarkTaylor
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2002
    Messages:
    4,327
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +665
    Correct.

    The Sky+ box has a proper S-Video output so I would certaintly use that rather than the SCART output.

    Do remember though that S-Video doesn't carry the audio signal, but hopefully you are using the optical 5.1 output from the Sky+ box connected to an AV amp for that anyway.

    Mark
     
  6. joys_R_us

    joys_R_us
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Scart is just the type of the physical connector and can carry S-Video signals as long as it is fully wired. You just need a simple mechanical adaptor then...
     
  7. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Surely the thing should work anyway if the stb is set to RGB, and do all sky boxes output s-video? I didn't think so. You will get no picture at all if the output is not RGB I think, so the problem may lie with the lead, or settings on the screen.
     
  8. NeilMcRae

    NeilMcRae
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +6
    Need more details. Sky+ has a normal s-video port and you should use this if you can. SCART to s-video really doesn't mean much [also remember that SCART cables are directional].

    If you planed to use Svideo from the SCART socket you probably will have to select S-video out from the SKY+ box through the SCART connector, although I've never seen a Sky+ box that can do this [my DVD player does though].

    If you want to connect your SKY box via RGB to an svideo input on the plasma, then you will need an RGB2Svideo convertor, JS sells really good models of these at http://www.rgbtosvideo.com/

    Regards,
    Neil.
     
  9. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    I'd assumed a 'proper' converter, RGB to svideo was meant, but reading again, I see the problem. With no signal to one of the s-video pins you get a B/W image, just like the VHS which obviously can't manage to connect the right ones. However, you'd get a better signal with the JS rgb to vga converter, unless the s-video thing is for convenience switching sources via your AV amp. In which case, a thread a few days ago a guy managed to get s s-video signal, albeit not brilliant, from his VHS with a dongle from maplins, converting composite to low grade s-video, which would get everything switched.
     
  10. JamesTapp

    JamesTapp
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2002
    Messages:
    235
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bedfordshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    I say again, the Sky+ has a native S-Video output, and if you need to use this you should connect via the S-Video DIN. I don't beleive the Sky+ outputs via S-Video via the Scart.
     
  11. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Well then that's why it doesn't work!
     

Share This Page

Loading...