Another HDMI Question....sorry!

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by Mr Yakimoto, Feb 9, 2009.

  1. Mr Yakimoto

    Mr Yakimoto
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    Messages:
    785
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +147
    Do you really need a specific HDMI cable that has "120hz capability" or is this nonsense?
     
  2. andy1249

    andy1249
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Messages:
    8,606
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,654
    Its nonsense , 120hz is a processing technique applied to the signal by your Display electronics "after" it has travelled down the cable to your TV.
    So the cable cant possibly have anything to do with it.
     
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2009
  3. Avi

    Avi
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    Messages:
    13,963
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,064
    Ignore 120hz claims but some source devices can use higher bandwidth i.e. higher colour bit depth etc and this can cause an issue with some cables especially as the length increases.

    If you want to ensure you have a cable that is capable of supporting the full capability of current HDMI then look for a CAT2 certified (at the required length) product. You don't need to spend a lot as there are decent products that start around £10 for short lengths.

    AVI
     
  4. Member 319784

    Member 319784
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,502
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Malvern
    Ratings:
    +240

Share This Page

Loading...