• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

Another fresh start thread

Geezer69

Established Member
Hi guys.

Straight of the bat, I am a noob at this - so apologies for what may appear stupid/obvious questions.

I have a five year old Toshiba laptop running Vista. I would like to wipe clean by doing a fresh install of Windows. When I bought this from the shop, the guy/rep said that I would not be getting a disc with windows on as it is on a partition of the HDD. The windows serial key is underneath the laptop, so this made sense at the time. Now I have gone to try and reinstall Windows (pressing f8 I think during startup) it is asking for a disc :mad:

I have now since moved onto a new laptop but I would still like to wipe clean and start again. The guy in PC World (I know, I know) said that I could just buy a recovery disc from ebay - is this true? What would be the best way to approach this? Any advice would be greatly appreciated

eugenerudenko

Established Member
If everything is right you don't need to any recovery disk to restore your system. I've done that on my HP with no problems at all. Have you deleted any files from the recovery partition?
As of buying disk from ebay - can't tell you. Never tried.

Wild Weasel

Distinguished Member
If it didn't come with a recovery disk you can make your own provided the recovery image isn't corrupt, but you'll need some blank DVDs.

There'll be a utility called the Toshiba Recovery Disk Creator, which is probably in the Toshiba folder on the Start menu (it might me in a sub-menu called Utilities).