1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Another AVR300 question

Discussion in 'Arcam Owners' Forum' started by Icarus, Mar 31, 2004.

  1. Icarus

    Icarus
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all,

    Init nice being able to talk direct to Arcam and particularly the boss man :)

    I have a AVR200 and was thinking about buying a P90 and biamping (just the two main speakers (Acoustic Energy AE1 mark 1's)) however...........Should the budget stretch could I do the following:

    Buy an AVR300 and use that as the AV receiver and biamp it with the AVR200 to power the AE1's, perhaps the 300 for the base and the 200 for the tweeters.

    How does that sound to you guys any pros and cons?

    How much is this AVR300 likely to be? I know all about Q2 ;)
     
  2. John Dawson

    John Dawson
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2001
    Messages:
    852
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    Ratings:
    +112
    The AVR200 and the P90 will work very well together.

    The AVR300 is a 7.1 channel device, so if you are using it in a 5.1 system as you must have now, then you can use the 2 spare power amps in the 300 to biamp the front speakers. It is designed to allow this.

    I would not try to mix a 200 and a 300 in the way you propose - quite complex and I doubt you would get any sonic advantage over the plain 300.

    HTH.

    John Dawson
     
  3. HoD

    HoD
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have an AVR200, but the front two channels are driven by an FMJ P25 power amp. Would there be any benefit in biamping using the P25 and the AVR200?
     
  4. Icarus

    Icarus
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    John,

    Thanks for the reply. In terms of purely steroe mode for the moment how much difference is there between the AVR200 and 300 expressed as a percentage? Alternatively could you describe the difference?
     
  5. John Dawson

    John Dawson
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2001
    Messages:
    852
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    Ratings:
    +112
    Icarus -

    Thanks for your interest in the upcoming AVR300. Please note that I don't have the time to enter a long debate about this - I trust you understand.

    Having said that I can't think of any aspect of the 300's stereo or multichannel performance that isn't better than the 200. In terms of sound quality a few things come immediately to mind - it goes deeper in the bass with more definition, is clearer (but is not hard or harsh) in the mid and treble, and generally allows you to hear more of what is going on in the music. Of course it goes louder too, in an effortless way. Another way of putting it is that it is different from, but comparable with, the A80/A90 in terms of stereo performance.

    The best thing will be to hear it for yourself of course :)

    HTH.

    John Dawson (Arcam)
     
  6. Icarus

    Icarus
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    John,

    Fanbloomintastic. You have answered my question and I will trouble you no more.


    Me tongues well and trully out now.... roll on launch date. The CD93 will be happy too!:)
     
  7. chris

    chris
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2000
    Messages:
    1,209
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    romney marsh, kent, uk
    Ratings:
    +28
    Another Question.........

    Will the 300 have the option to adjust channel levels for each input.
    i.e
    like my denon 3803 does.
    i set the amp up with internal test tones, but then i can fine tune the levels for DVD digital/caox input and then different setting for the 6 channel external in useing Avia, without changeing the settings for other inputs.........???????

    I find this most useful as i tend to get different levels settings between the internal tones and Avia tones.
     
  8. John Dawson

    John Dawson
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2001
    Messages:
    852
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    Ratings:
    +112
    You can adjust the input sensitivity of the 2 channel inputs in 6dB steps but not the 6 channel input which is fixed at 2V rms sensitivity. Having said that if you mean can you further adjust the interchannel analogue levels then yes you can on the DV89.

    John Dawson (Arcam)
     
  9. chris

    chris
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2000
    Messages:
    1,209
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    romney marsh, kent, uk
    Ratings:
    +28
    On the 3803 i callibrate all channels to 85db with internal test tones.
    Then i switch to the DVD input (digital/coax), i put Avia on and there is a diff of between +/- 5db, between the internal test tones and the Avia test tones.
    The 3803 allows me to alter the channel levels for the DVD input, by 0.5db steps for each channel.
    Then i switch the reciver to External 5.1 input and do the setup again, with the avia disk.
    If i cannot get the 85db setting with the test tones via the DVD player, then the 3803 allows me to alter it for more gain on that channel to get the 85db.
    So i can do a basic setup and then a more fine tune setup of channel levels to each input and i wondered if the AVR300 would allow this........??

    If not.....could this be a further suggestion for maybe a Firmware upgrade, or would this not be possible without a hardware upgrade, as i am sure it would be of benifit to a lot of people, where the DVD player does not output the same level per channels(digital/coax connection) as the Amp would.

    If you see what i mean.
     
  10. shadow

    shadow
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    John, when is this receiver coming to the States? I check Audiophile Systems web site regularly but see no news on it. Thanks.
     
  11. RaceTripper

    RaceTripper
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Messages:
    537
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +1
    shadow...

    John D. has stated in another thread the AVR300 will be available in the U.S. sometime in May. Audiophile Systems should be getting demonstrators sometime this month.

    I'm also waiting as I have one on order.

    Dean
     
  12. shadow

    shadow
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, Dean, I hope Audiophile Systems does not give my your AVR 300.
     
  13. RaceTripper

    RaceTripper
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Messages:
    537
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    USA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Sorry, I have dibs on the first one to hit the U.S. :devil:

    I already have my new pair of speakers set up and ready to go.

    Dean
     
  14. Barend

    Barend
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2004
    Messages:
    804
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +9
    Well, I know what I'll be buying next - an AVR300.
    Bit sorry I just ordered a H.K. AVR-5550...
    Ah well, got that cheap so I'll be able to resell it quickly...
    So as soon as it's out in Europe and I find a decent foreign seller (Dutch dealer organization is so plastered shut that the prices are exorbitant) I'll get one!
    Cheers to all
    Barend
     
  15. Cameron

    Cameron
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi there all, this may sound like a strange question but.....

    does anyone know the distance between the front feet and the front panel? I'm trying to figure out whether it will fit on my shelf ok.

    thanks

    CaM
     
  16. John Dawson

    John Dawson
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2001
    Messages:
    852
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    Ratings:
    +112
    The centre of each front foot is set back about 55mm from the bottom edge of the front panel. The diameter of the part of the foot that sits on the shelf is about 25mm.

    HTH.

    John Dawson (Arcam)
     
  17. Cameron

    Cameron
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks for your reply :)

    CaM
     
  18. Cameron

    Cameron
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi there all, does anyone know whether it is posible to bi-amp the center speaker with one of the spare channels of the AVR300 or is it only the front 2?

    i.e. I already have an A32 so I would have 2 channels free on the AVR300.

    thanks

    CaM
     

Share This Page

Loading...