1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Annoying picture pulsing

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by SimonMW, Jun 15, 2005.

  1. SimonMW

    SimonMW
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    Recently my television, a JVC HV-32P37SJE, has developed a habit of 'pulsing' whenever a bright picture is shown.

    The effect is almost as if the picture is being zoomed into and then back out a little, and only happens when there is a picture with a high brightness level (such as a mostly white background, or a lot of bright clouds). Most times this only happens at the first instance of a bright picture being shown or cut into. But sometimes on really bright pictures it starts doing the 'pulse' repeatedly.

    There doesn't seem to be anything wrong with the television otherwise. Anyone have any ideas?
     
  2. Tight Git

    Tight Git
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    6,332
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +597
    This is due to EHT regulation and most CRT sets exhibit it to a degree, some worse than others.

    If it's only happened recently, then it's repairman time.

    (This is not something you can do yourself.)

    But perhaps it's always been there and you've only just noticed it.
     
  3. SimonMW

    SimonMW
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hmm. Doesn't sound too good then. Its a fairly new TV (only 2 months old). It definitely wasn't suffering from this problem before.
     
  4. Tight Git

    Tight Git
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    6,332
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +597
    If it's only 2 months old, you should DEFINATELY call the repairman!

    TG's tip of the day:

    Why not record a programme with lots of brightness changes so you can demonstrate the problem?
     
  5. red16v

    red16v
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2004
    Messages:
    552
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    Hi, I guess from what you're saying that when the picture content is mainly very high brightness the picture size zooms in/out very slightly continuously until the picture changes to something with less brightness, ie, it doesn't just zoom in or out 'once' when the high brightness picture occurs but sort of 'pulses' in and out ?

    If that's the case then it's not poor eht regulation but excessive beam current causing the beam overcurrent protection circuits to operate momentarily - the eht will be reduced slightly but this is not poor eht regulation - its designed to do this. Generally this can be set up and adjusted with the back off (it would have been set up in the factory) unless the circuitry is fixed with no adjustment. A job for an engineer from the company you bought it from. Although if he doesn't know anything about tellys he'll say its faulty and needs replacing. Regards, yt.
     
  6. SimonMW

    SimonMW
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi red16v.

    Yes, the problem is exactly as you described. Would there be anything in the service menus related to this or is it definitely a physical hardware adjustment?
     
  7. Tight Git

    Tight Git
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    6,332
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +597
    Yes agreed. :thumbsup:

    I'd mis-understood the original description. :oops:

    But I still think a recording is a good plan, otherwise the technician might try to pass it off as imagination. :eek:
     
  8. red16v

    red16v
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2004
    Messages:
    552
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    Hi, this is not a user or menu driven adjustment it needs to be set up by an engineer. If its new (the telly) then the supplier should easily arrange to have your set adjusted - TG's idea is a good one if the engineer wants to visit on site although he should have a test signal generator which should show the fault. Regards, yt.
     

Share This Page

Loading...