1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

...and confusion did reign.

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by ReHaBWales, Jun 29, 2004.

  1. ReHaBWales

    ReHaBWales
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    112
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm looking to buy a plasma within the next few weeks (my Sony FD! has died) but I'm confused by the connections. I have a H/K DVD25 that has component outs and a sky box (scart) to connect. If I go for the PW6 what will I need to connect all my stuff? or should I consider something else?
    TBH it's a bit of a nightmare for the plasma noobs like me. I am technically minded but this really is new ground. any help would be appreciated with a sloppy virtual kiss
    :lease:
     
  2. Wazy

    Wazy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The PW6 has choices of connection boards that fit into the bottom...

    For DVD you should get a component input board, these can be BNC and RCA so make sure you get the one that suits your cable type choice. DVD will look best via this, and if the H/K DVD25 has progressive scan it will look awesome! :)

    For SKY you should get a JS RGB to Plasma VGA convertor box and a good quality VGA cable and connect this to the 15 pin D type input already on the plasma.

    If you want to connect anything else such as an old vcr or camcorder etc then you might also want to get a svideo/composite board as well.

    If you want to connect a games console then you could connect this to the 2nd scart socket on the sky box, making sure the console is set to RGB output, this will loop through and be sent through the JS box to the screen.

    You have not mentioned about audio, if you are using a higher end amp with component switching then you obviously have that option to connect other items to. Some people convert sky's RGB signal to component for this switching purpose, as well as a console output.

    Other options include scart boards which are easy to connect, but give a softer image on sky as an example.

    Best thing for you to do is make an exact list of what u are wanting to use with it, and think about what you want to connect in the future. Also do some searches on this board as this topics been covered many times. Don't rush into buying unless you are 100% confident.

    Hope my ramble has helped :thumbsup:

    Wazy
     
  3. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,713
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +613
    If you are looking at the deals form Av-sales or similar, then I would go for the component board (or the dual slot so you get component, composite and s-vid) and then get one of teh JS RGB to plasma converters.

    You can run you dvd into the component inputs, s or composite from your amp for set up screens and the JS unit to the vga socket.

    This will give you the best picture without going down the scaler route.

    I am converting sky to component rather than VGA, I ordered the dual slot board and a 5 bnc to bnc cable, I then have one cable carrying component and I am using the two spare bnc's (normal carry H and V sync on RGB/H/V) to hook up S-video, this keeps it nice and neat with only the one cable running to the plasma.
     
  4. Kopite4Ever

    Kopite4Ever
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    4,302
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Liverpool: European Capital of Football 2005/2006
    Ratings:
    +76
    well obviously if your dvd player outputs component you will need a component board for the PW6. many people's justified views to hook up sky is to get a JS Tech RGB > VGA Converter to hook up sky, try here http://www.js-technology.com

    im sure the panny 6 owners will tell you the benefit of this little brilliant box
     
  5. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,713
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +613
    Wazy, you beat me to it :)
     
  6. Kopite4Ever

    Kopite4Ever
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    4,302
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Liverpool: European Capital of Football 2005/2006
    Ratings:
    +76
    haha we all posted the same time
     
  7. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,713
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +613
    And all seemed to give a thumbs up for JS too :)
     
  8. Wazy

    Wazy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    lol, ah well.. I guess its nice to know theres plenty of folks who like to help out :)
     
  9. ReHaBWales

    ReHaBWales
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    112
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey thanks guys. I'm gonna demo a unit soon and I hope it lives up to the obvious good reputation it has on these boards.
    I have altogether the H/K dvd25 (and yes it is progressive)
    a $ky+ box and perhaps later a PC to play games on.
    I think I may convert the sky to component and loop it though the amp along with the DVD player that will leave the the VGA connection free for a PC at a later stage. What do you think?
     
  10. Wazy

    Wazy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    ReHaBWales,

    Yeah that sounds good mate. I just personally prefer the Sky image via the JS to VGA box over the same image fed via component. If you do convert to component though - JS do an excellent unit for that as well!

    You can get an extra VGA board or even a Digital input board for PC if you wish as well. Its all just personal preference really.

    Wazy
     
  11. ReHaBWales

    ReHaBWales
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    112
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was just thinking how many VGA inputs does the PW6 have?
     
  12. Kopite4Ever

    Kopite4Ever
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    4,302
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Liverpool: European Capital of Football 2005/2006
    Ratings:
    +76
    one as standard (i think) but you can buy addition VGA inputs
     
  13. ReHaBWales

    ReHaBWales
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    112
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Damn the more I read the more confused I get by the choice!

    I'm now looking at the
    Hitachi 42PD5000 series
    Panasonic PW6
    Panasonic PE30
    any Pioneers I should be considering in the same price range?
     
  14. crooked fingers

    crooked fingers
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    24
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm also looking at the PW6 and am confused (technically, I'm looking for anything that doesn't cost a small fortune in Ireland and has a good picture quality) - the panasonic website didn't help much so I have one or two questions!
    Since it's only a display panel does it handle all this fancy 3:2 pulldown conversion, HD and all the different types of XXXp and XXXi signals or do you need a seperate processor for this? If, and I'm pretty sure I'm correct in saying this, it is done internally then is it a Panasonic chipset or and external suppliers?
     
  15. Kopite4Ever

    Kopite4Ever
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    4,302
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Liverpool: European Capital of Football 2005/2006
    Ratings:
    +76
    bare in mind that ive heard the Panny PE30 will not accept 720p but the PW6 will. if you are future proofing then really think about that.
     
  16. sargetheboss

    sargetheboss
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Messages:
    71
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    ALWAYS ON THE PC
    Ratings:
    +8
  17. ReHaBWales

    ReHaBWales
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    112
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah I saw that offer in another thread. It is very tmpting I must say.
     
  18. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,713
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +613
  19. ReHaBWales

    ReHaBWales
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    112
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Woooohoo! even better! How can I resist?

    Thanks gizlaroc :clap:

    I might add a component board to that offer. I see that the BNC board is cheaper. Why is that?
     
  20. Wazy

    Wazy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    No idea to be honest, I got the component RCA board free with mine :)
     
  21. ReHaBWales

    ReHaBWales
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    112
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Now then Shall or shant I get the extended warranty?
     

Share This Page

Loading...