Anamorphic projection

jk330ci

Standard Member
I'm getting a bit confused about anamorphic projection. Can any movie be played in anamorphic or does it have to be 2:35.1 ratio?
Can any projector be used for anamorphic projection or is it only high end projectors?
How much do the lens cost.
I'm fairly new to projection and have just bought a optoma hd131xe but it has triggered off a thought about taking the movie experience further.
Maybe a future upgrade if not compatible with my pj. I'm currently projecting across the width of the room at 3m, I could go down the length diving me over 4.5m.
It's a bit confusing.

Peter Parker

Distinguished Member
Any movie can be played 'anamorphically' but it's really designed for 2.35 movies on a 2.35 screen, not 16:9 movies (though you could, but you'll lose the top and bottom part of the image).

You would use an anamorphic lens to do it 'anamorphically' but you can get similar results by zooming. See the link in my sig for info and for a video on how a lens works.

Any pj can be used with a lens, but you will need the pj to do the necessary scaling, or an external scaler (see the video which will explain).

Not all pjs can zoom for 2.35 though, as you need a zoom range of greater than 1.33 and lens shift to keep the image on the 2.35 screen as zooming often means the image will move up or down, depending on whether or not the pj is mounted higher or lower to the center of the screen (ceiling or coffee table mounted for example).

Anamorphic lenses vary in quality and cost (few hundred to a few thousand pounds), though you can make a good saving buying second hand. They range from a few hundred for basic prism lenses with no lens coatings or corrector elements, to treated and corrected prisms or cylindrical lenses. Any decent lens will cost you more than the projector.

It looks like the only option with the Optoma is to use a lens unless you adopt the shrink method which scales down 16:9 movies to around 1440 x 817.

Gary